May 23, 2022 08:00 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
50-year-old woman, her two daughters commit suicide in Delhi flat, leave chilling suicide note warning of 'deadly gas' | India registers 2,226 new Covid-19 cases in last 24 hours | 'This is something that is unmatchable': PM Modi interacts with badminton champions | 4 dead, massive blackouts as severe storms hit eastern Canadian provinces | Imran Khan lauds India for 'sustaining US pressure' over fuel price cut
Ex-Meghalaya CM, 11 other Congress MLAs officially join Trinamool Congress Meghalaya MLAs | TMC joining

Ex-Meghalaya CM, 11 other Congress MLAs officially join Trinamool Congress

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 25 Nov 2021, 11:00 pm

Kolkata/IBNS:  Former Meghalaya Chief Minister Mukul Sangma and 11 other Congress MLAs of the state, formally joined the Trinamool Congress,  on Thursday.

The official joining of 12 MLAs from Meghalaya took place in the presence of party leaders Moloy Ghatak and Manas Bhunia.

The Meghalaya MLAs submitted a letter to assembly Speaker Metbah Lyngdoh around 10 pm on Wednesday, informing him of their change of status, reports said.

The development makes the Trinamool Congress the principal opposition party in the state.

The 12 MLAs include: Charles Pyngrope, Mukul Sangma, Marthon Sangma, Jimmy D. Sangma, Lazarus Sangma, Shitlang Pale, Miyani D. Shira, Himalaya M, George B. Lyngdoh, Dikkanchi D. Shira, Winnerson D. Sangma and Zenith Sangma.

Earlier, Congress leaders Kirti Azad and Ashok Tanwar as well as Pawan Varma, formerly of Janata Dal (United), joined the Trinamool Congress in Delhi in the presence of party chief Mamata Banerjee, who is currently visiting the national capital.