March 31, 2023 22:22 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Bengal Ram Navami clash: TMC, BJP engage in war of words, share video blaming each other | Bengaluru woman dragged from park and gang-raped in moving car; all four accused arrested | Amit Shah calls Bengal Governor over Howrah Ram Navami clash; prohibitory orders imposed in area | Indore: 4 die in temple stepwell collapse incident, 19 rescued | Mamata calls DA protesters 'thieves', says they received jobs 'unethically' during Left era
President Kovind confers Padma Awards for 2020 Padma Award
Image Credit: Screenshot grab

President Kovind confers Padma Awards for 2020

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 08 Nov 2021, 12:18 pm

New Delhi/UNI: President Ram Nath Kovind on Monday gave the Padma award for the year 2020 to the winners at a Civil Investiture Ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, and External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar are also present at the award ceremony.

Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian honour, has been awarded to veteran socialist leader and former Defence Minister George Fernandes, former Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, former External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj. All these awards are being conferred posthumously.

Padma Vibhushan has also been conferred to Mauritian politician Anerood Jugnauth who served both as President and Prime Minister of Mauritius. Classical singer Chhannulal Mishra, boxer Mary Kom, and late seer of Pejawar Mutt Vishwesha Tirtha Swami also received the honour.

For the year 2021, 119 Padma Awards were given, which includes seven Padma Vibhushan, 10 Padma Bhushan, and 102 Padma Shri awards.