May 24, 2024 00:25 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Thane fire update: 7 killed, 40 injured in explosion fire at chemical factory | 'Surrender or face my anger': HD Deve Gowda's stern warning to grandson Prajwal Revanna | Over 300 Indians, who were scammed into working as 'cyber slaves' in Cambodia, returns | Massive explosion at a factory in Thane, 20 evacuated | Mamata govt promoting Muslim League's agenda: BJP president JP Nadda after Calcutta HC's 'OBC quota' verdict
TMC sweeps all four Bengal bypolls by record margins, BJP cries foul
Bengal Bypolls
Image Credit: IBNS File

TMC sweeps all four Bengal bypolls by record margins, BJP cries foul

| @indiablooms | 02 Nov 2021, 03:47 pm

Kolkata/IBNS: In another setback for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Trinamool Congress (TMC) won all four byelections, which were held in West Bengal last Saturday, including two seats which were earlier won by the saffron brigade.

In a record margin, TMC candidate Udayan Guha won from Dinhata by over 1,64,089  lakh votes.

In Mar-Apr elections, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Nisith Pramanik, who is now the junior Union Home Minister, had won by mere 57 votes.

Crying foul over the result, BJP state president Sukanta Majumdar said, "The result of Dinhata proves everything. All people are aware. No one is a fool."

Countering Majumder, TMC MP Sukhendu Sekhar Ray said, "What Election Commission is doing? Let them complain to the Election Commission."

In Santipur, TMC's Braja Kishor Goswami won by a margin of 63,892 votes.

The bypolls in the two seats were necessitated after BJP MLA-elects Pramanik and Jagannath Sarkar resigned from Dinhata and Santipur respectively to retain their Lok Sabha constituencies.

In Khardah seat, which fell vacant after the demise of TMC's winning candidate Kajal Sinha, West Bengal Minister Shobhandeb Chattopadhyay retained the party's seat winning by 93,832 votes.

"This win will have an effect on the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. Mamata Banerjee is undoubtedly the central face of Opposition in the country now," Chattopadhyay told reporters.

The Gosaba seat, which fell vacant due to the demise of TMC MLA Jayanta Naskar, has been retained by the ruling party.

TMC's Subrata Mondal won the seat by a huge margin of 1,43,051 votes.

Reacting to her party's success, West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC supremo, Mamata Banerjee, tweeted, "My heartiest congratulations to all the four winning candidates!

"This victory is people's victory, as it shows how Bengal will always choose development and unity over propaganda and hate politics. With people's blessings, we promise to continue taking Bengal to greater heights!"

Taking a dig at the BJP, TMC national general secretary Abhishek Banerjee tweeted, " A cracker free Diwali in true sense. Wishing folks at @BJP4India a very Happy Diwali!"


Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.