November 27, 2021 17:16 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
'Urge PM Modi to stop flights from countries hit by new COVID variant': Arvind Kejriwal | RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav admitted to Delhi's AIIMS with complaints of fever | 77 fresh COVID cases in Karnataka medical college, facility shut | WHO classifies new COVID strain as 'variant of concern', names it 'Omicron' | Muslims offering namaz in Gurgaon interrupted again, faces 'Jai Shri Ram' chants
Pegasus issue: Supreme Court forms 3-member committee to probe into snooping allegations Pegasus

Pegasus issue: Supreme Court forms 3-member committee to probe into snooping allegations

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 27 Oct 2021, 11:58 am

New Delhi/IBNS: The Supreme Court Wednesday formed a three-member committee to probe into the snooping allegations that were levelled against the Narendra Modi government earlier this year, media reports said.

The allegations will be probed by the committee, which will be headed by former Supreme Court judge RV Raveendran.

The other members of the committee will be Alok Joshi and Sandeep Oberoi.

Chief Justice of India (CJI) NV Ramana has directed the committee to probe into the issue and place the report before the court. The next hearing will take place after eight weeks.

In a strong statement against the Centre, the top court said, "National security cannot be the bugbear that the judiciary shies away from, by virtue of its mere mentioning. Although this Court should be circumspect in encroaching the domain of national security, no omnibus prohibition can be called for against judicial review."

The apex court stated since the Centre didn't specifically deny the allegations, it has "no option but to accept the submissions of petitioner prima facie and appoint an expert committee whose function will be overseen by the top court", Times Now reported.

Names of high profile political personalities like Congress MP Rahul Gandhi, former poll strategist Prashant Kishor, new IT Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw, Union Minister Prahlad Patel and Trinamool Congress (TMC) MP Abhishek Banerjee among others have featured in the potential target list of the Israeli spyware, The Wire has reported in an explosive revelation.

Besides key politicians, over 40 Indian journalists and a constitutional authority were also found on the database of NSO as connected to people of interest since 2016, The Wire has reported.

Though the particular spyware is sold only to a vetted government, Union IT Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw countered media reports on the Pegasus issue and said 'illegal surveillance' is not possible in India.

"I’m sure my colleagues in the opposition who have been in Government for years would be well aware of these protocols. Since they have governed the country, they would also be aware that any form of illegal surveillance is not possible with the checks and balances in our laws and our robust institutions," Vaishnaw had said in Parliament.

Opposition welcomes SC judgement

Congress leader Randeep Singh Surjewala tweeted, "Pseudo-Nationalism is the last refuge of cowardly fascists everywhere. Welcome SC order setting up Spl Committee to examine misuse of spyware #Pegasus despite Modi Govts embarrassing attempts to evade, avoid & divert attention in the name of National Security. Satyamev Jayate!"

The Trinamool Congress (TMC) has put up a tweet which reads, "How far can @BJP4India possibly run? They feared every single discussion raised by our Hon'ble MPs in Parliament! We welcome the decision by the Hon'ble Supreme Court. Truth must prevail."