October 21, 2021 17:27 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Girl students will get smartphones, graduates scooty if Cong wins UP: Priyanka Gandhi Vadra | Drug case: Bombay HC will hear Aryan Khan's bail plea on Oct 26 | Drug case: NCB officials at residences of Ananya Panday and SRK | Shah Rukh Khan meets son Aryan arrested in drug case | Triumph of science, enterprise, collective spirit of India: PM Modi as India crosses 100 crore vaccination milestone
Govt extends BSF powers to more areas in 3 border states BSF
Image Credit: UNI

Govt extends BSF powers to more areas in 3 border states

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 14 Oct 2021, 08:48 pm

New Delhi/IBNS: Border Security Force (BSF) officers have been authorised to arrest, search, and of seizure to the extent of 50 km inside three new states sharing international boundaries with Pakistan and Bangladesh.

The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has cited the recent incidents of drones dropping weapons have prompted the expansion of the jurisdiction of the BSF, according to an NDTV report.

The Chief Minister of Punjab has already protested against it.

"I strongly condemn the government's unilateral decision to give additional powers to BSF within 50 km belt running along the international borders, which is a direct attack on the federalism. I urge the Union Home Minister Amit Shah to immediately roll back this irrational decision," Charanjit Singh Channi tweeted.

In Assam, West Bengal, and Punjab, the BSF has got the right to search and arrest just like the state police, the report said.

As per the new notification, BSF officers will be able to conduct searches and arrests over a wider area in West Bengal, Punjab, and Assam.

BSF has got the right to take this action under the Code of Criminal Procedure (CrPC), the Passport Act, and the Passport (Entry to India) Act.

Earlier, this range was 15 km. In addition to this, BSF will also be able to search and arrest in Nagaland, Mizoram, Tripura, Manipur, and Ladakh, stated the report.