February 03, 2023 13:38 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Hockey Men's World Cup 2023: India beat Japan 8-0 in classification match | Amid row, Kerala Congress screens controversial BBC documentary on PM Modi in Thiruvananthapuram | Republic Day Parade to showcase India’s indigenous military prowess, cultural diversity | Mulayam Singh Yadav, Zakir Hussain conferred Padma Vibhushan award | Dilip Mahalanabis, who pioneered ORS use, to be awarded Padma Vibhushan
Bhabanipur bypoll today, must win for Mamata to remain West Bengal CM Bhabanipur Bypoll
Image Credit: Facebook/MamataBanerjee

Bhabanipur bypoll today, must win for Mamata to remain West Bengal CM

Souvik Ghosh/IBNS | @indiablooms | 30 Sep 2021, 12:43 am

Kolkata/IBNS: All eyes will be on West Bengal's Bhabanipur assembly constituency, where elections will be held Thursday, as Trinamool Congress (TMC) candidate Mamata Banerjee will have to win the electoral battle to remain the West Bengal Chief Minister.

The bypoll was necessitated following the resignation of West Bengal Minister and TMC veteran Shobhandeb Chattopadhyay.

Chattopadhyay resigned to pave the way for Banerjee to contest and get elected to the assembly after she was defeated by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)'s Suvendu Adhikari in Nandigram.

Though the Nandigram result has been challenged by Banerjee in the court, she has plunged into election again to remain in the Chief Minister's post.

As per Constitution, anyone can become a minister but he/she will have to get elected from any assembly constituency of the state within six months after the assumption of the post.

To challenge Banerjee, the BJP has fielded lawyer Priyanka Tibrewal, the Left has nominated young advocate Srijib Biswas while the Congress decided not to contest in a gesture to the ruling party in a changed political scenario.

As per sources, Banerjee will be casting her vote at 4:30 pm.

Fighting from Bhabanipur was destined, says Mamata Banerjee

"I think my contest from this seat was destined. I want to see the whole country from Bhabanipur," said Banerjee multiple times during campaigning.

Requesting all voters to reach the poll booth to cast their votes on scheduled date Sept 30, she said, "Please go for voting even if it rains. The TMC has a majority. Anyone can become the Chief Minister. But cast your votes if you (people) want me to continue (as the Chief Minister)."

Time for Bhabanipur to do what Nandigram did, says BJP

The BJP during its campaign kept on hitting at Mamata Banerjee's personal defeat in Nandigram, requesting the voters of Bhabanipur to treat the "unelected" Chief Minister in a similar way.

"For me, this is not just a campaign but to reach out to the people who are not aware of what this government had done (she means violence) in West Bengal so the message has to reach to them that they should look at Nandigram the way it has given a befitting reply to the Trinamool. Now it is time for Bhabanipur to do this," she told India Blooms in stern words.

Along with Bhabanipur bypoll, elections will be held Thursday in Jangipur and Shamsherganj, where polls were postponed due to deaths of contesting candidates in Mar-Apr this year. 

The poll results of all three seats will be declared on Oct 3.