March 23, 2023 13:01 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Kumar Mangalam Birla receives Padma Bhushan award | Bharat 6G Mission: PM Modi unveils India's 6G project, official testbed | US: Mountain lion attacks couple relaxing in hot tub during Colorado vacation | Heavy security keeps Khalistani protesters away from Indian High Commission in London after Sunday's breach | Peace returned to Kashmir after scrapping of Art 370: Amit Shah inaugurating historical temple
Election Commission announces dates for bye-polls to 3 parliamentary and 30 assembly constituencies Byepolls

Election Commission announces dates for bye-polls to 3 parliamentary and 30 assembly constituencies

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 29 Sep 2021, 12:08 am

New Delhi/IBNS: The Election Commission of India (ECI) Tuesday announced the dates for holding the bye-elections to fill the vacancies in three parliamentary constituencies of Union territories of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu, Madhya Pradesh and Himachal Pradesh and 30 vacancies in Assembly constituencies of various states.

In a statement, the Commision said the dates were decided based after taking into the pandemic, flood, festivals, cold conditions in certain regions as well as feedback from concerned states and union territories.

Bye-elections will be held for the assembly constituencies of Andhra Pradesh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Telangana on October 30 while the votes will be counted on November 2 and the results will be declared on November 11.

The last date of nominations for these assembly bye-polls is October 8 and the nominations will be scrutinised on October 11 while the last date of withdrawal of the applications is on October 16.

The bye-poll events for the Lok Sabha seats of  UT of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh will follow the same schedule.

For Assembly Constituency of Assam, Bihar and West Bengal the bye-polls will be held on October 30 and the votes will be counted on November 2 while the results will be announced on Novemebr 5.

For the assembly bye-polls the electoral roll published om January 1, 2021 will be used, the Eection Commission said.

Only three vehicles will be permitted within a periphery of 100 meters of RO's office during pre and post nomination procession and no procession for nomination will be permitted, the Commission said.

The number of star campaigners restricted to 20 for these bye-elections for national /state recognized parties and 10 for un-recognized registered parties in the wake of the Covid-19 pandemic.

The Commision has banned roadshows motor/bike/cycle rallies for election campaign by political parties.