August 19, 2022 23:10 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Manish Sisodia is number one of 15 accused in CBI FIR on Delhi liquor policy: Report | Former NCB officer Sameer Wankhede threatened on social media | Prez Murmu, PM Modi greet people on Janmashtami | CBI raids Delhi Deputy CM Manish Sisodia's residence over liquor policy, AAP cries political vendetta | Nitin Gadkari launches Ashok Leyland electric double-decker bus in Mumbai
Karnataka ministry formation, BJP central leadership working on formula to avoid seniors' revolt Karnataka Politics
Image Credit: Basavaraj Bommai/Twitter

Karnataka ministry formation, BJP central leadership working on formula to avoid seniors' revolt

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 03 Aug 2021, 03:33 pm

Bengaluru/UNI: The BJP central leadership, in discussion with state leaders including Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai and Union Minister Prahlad Joshi, have worked out a formula of announcing the list of ministers phase wise to avoid possible revolt of senior party legislators who could be dropped from the yet-to-be formed ministry.

The central leadership is expected to reveal the ministers' list by Tuesday evening.

"There is a parliamentary session. After the session, they (party's central leadership) will discuss and reveal the list (of names of the ministers) on Tuesday," Bommai told the reporters late Monday night.

The swearing-in ceremony is likely to take place tomorrow with the possibility of a green signal from the central leadership.

Party sources say that the central leadership is expected to drop some of the legislators, who were in BS Yediyurappa's cabinet, to make way for young legislators.

Some other senior legislators, who were in Yediyurappa's cabinet, would be retained, considering caste and regional factors.

Place for outsiders

The central leadership is also expected to induct some legislators who migrated to the BJP from Congress and JD(S) to topple the previous JDS-Congress government to form the Yediyurappa-led government in the state. Bommai himself had asked "outsiders" not to worry as they are part of the party.

Long Talk

Bommai Monday held talks with Union Ministers Amit Shah, Prahlad Joshi, Dharmendra Pradhan, Party's National Organising Secretary BL Santosh and state-incharge Arun Singh.

Before meeting the central leaders, the Chief Minister had a three-hour discussion with Joshi on the central leadership's suggestion to prepare the list.

Bommai prepared three lists of various combinations and had given them to the central leadership. However, they discussed only one list of names.

"Generally speaking, three lists of various combinations have been submitted. Our national party president will finalise one list. What they will do, I do not know. They will hold another round of discussion and finalise. After that, they will decide on the number of ministers to be inducted. This is because they are taking into consideration regional and social factors, which takes time," he said.

Possible retainees

Govinda Karajola, B Sriramulu, CN Ashwaththa Narayana, R Ashoka, JC Madhuswamy, Umesh Katti

Possible Inductees

SA Ramdas, Abhay Singh, Sunil Kumar, Poornima Srinivas, Dattatreya Patil Revura, Raju Gowda, Halappa Achar, Nehru Olekar or B Harshvardhan, Muniratna or Mahesh Kumathalli, Araga Jnanendra or Basanagauda Patil Yatnal, and Shankar Patil Munenakoppa or Kalakappa Bandi, Satish Reddy, N Ravikumar or S Rudra Gowda (MLCs)

Possible Oustees

Jagadeesh Shettar, V Somanna, CC Patil, Sasikala Jolle, Kota Srinivasa Poojary, Prabhu Chavhan.