February 05, 2023 20:19 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Assam: G20 delegates visits Kaziranga National Park | Power Minister RK Singh calls upon G20 members to fight global warming, climate change | WPL: Mumbai Indians announces coaching team, Charlotte Edwards appointed head coach | Himachal Pradesh: One dies,5 injured in road accident in Una dist | Hockey Men's World Cup 2023: India beat Japan 8-0 in classification match
BJP walks out of Bengal assembly, says 'not allowed to speak' Bengal Assembly | BJP
Image Credit: Suvendu Adhikari Twitter

BJP walks out of Bengal assembly, says 'not allowed to speak'

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 06 Jul 2021, 02:38 pm

Kolkata/IBNS: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-Trinamool Congress (TMC) verbal fight took the centre-stage of the ongoing West Bengal assembly session on Monday, with the saffron camp accusing Speaker Biman Banerjee of not allowing it to speak.

BJP MLA and leader of the Opposition, Suvendu Adhikari, said he was not allowed to say Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee had lost the electoral battle in Nandigram while her party won the state.

Following which, the BJP MLAs walked out of the assembly.

Adhikari says Biman Banerjee had refused to entertain his comment stating the matter is "subjudice".

"I have never seen such a biased Speaker," said Adhikari, who is an MLA from Nandigram.

After a close contest between the two heavyweights in the high profile Nandigram assembly constituency, Mamata lost to her confidante-turned opponent Adhikari by a margin of over 1,900 votes.

Mamata had trailed Adhikari for 11 rounds but the trend changed in the next four, with margins ranging from six to 11,000. Adhikari gained in the final rounds and was declared winner.

The controversy erupted mainly after Mamata was declared winner initially in media reports, but later, it was reported the counting was on and Adhikari was finally announced winner.

Mamata has approached the Calcutta High Court challenging the Nandigra result.