May 18, 2021 20:45 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
KK Shailaja won't be part of Pinarayi Vijayan cabinet in Kerala govt, set to become party whip | Has China launched biological warfare against India as second COVID-19 pandemic wave, expert questions | Cyclone Tauktae kills 3 in Gujarat, 6 in Maharashtra | Narada arrests: Madan Mitra, Sovan Chatterjee admitted to hospital after complaints of breathlessness | India records 4329 new COVID-19 deaths in past 24 hours
Sourav Ganguly, Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, Dilip Ghosh invited to Mamata's swearing-in tomorrow Bengal Politics
(From L to R) Mamata Banerjee and Sourav Ganguly (Images: IBNS File)

Sourav Ganguly, Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, Dilip Ghosh invited to Mamata's swearing-in tomorrow

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 04 May 2021, 07:18 pm

Kolkata/IBNS: Indian cricket board president Sourav Ganguly along with opposition leaders like BJP's state chief Dilip Ghosh and former Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee have been invited to West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee's swearing-in ceremony, which will be held at Raj Bhavan on Wednesday, media reports said.

However, it is yet not clear whether Ganguly, who was earlier speculated to join Mamata's rival Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), will attend the ceremony.

Mamata, who heads the Trinamool Congress (TMC), will be swearing in as the Chief Minister for the third consecutive term at 10:45 am on Wednesday.

Apart from Ganguly, the guest list comprises former West Bengal Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharya, Left Front chairman Biman Bose, state BJP leader Dilip Ghosh, state Congress president Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, TMC leaders Subrata Mukherjee, Partha Chatterjee, party's poll strategist Prashant Kishor, TMC Lok Sabha MPs Abhishek Banerjee and Dev.

Due to the prevailing Covid-19 situation, Mamata on Sunday said the ceremony would be low-key.

In a highly intense fight with the BJP, the TMC has won 213 of 292 seats (two more seats due to be polled), decimating the saffron unit which has won just 77.

Though her party registered a landslide victory, Mamata has been defeated in a close battle in Nandigram by her lieutenant-turned BJP candidate Suvendu Adhikari by over 1,900.

As per constitutional norm, Mamata can become the Chief Minister for now but she would have to get elected from any constituency within six months.

The Chief Minister-elect is scheduled to hold a Covid-19 meeting at state headquarters Nabanna after swearing in on Wednesday.