October 20, 2021 22:52 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Jacqueline Fernandez appears at ED's Delhi office for questioning in money laundering case | 'WhatsApp chats reveal Aryan Khan regularly indulged in illicit drugs': Court says denying bail | Priyanka Gandhi Vadra allowed to visit family of UP man who died in police custody | Drug case: Aryan Khan's bail rejected | Crops destroyed due to rains: Delhi announces Rs. 50,000 per hectare of farmland compensation to farmers
Mamata Banerjee wins Nandigram Mamata Banerjee
(From L to R) Mamata Banerjee and Suvendu Adhikari (Credits: TMC and Suvendu Adhikari Twitter handles)

Mamata Banerjee wins Nandigram

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 02 May 2021, 04:31 pm

Nandigram: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee successfully won the politically crucial Nandigram seat by beating Bharatiya Janata Party's opponent Suvendu Adhikari.

As per report, Mamata Banerjee defeated her former party colleague by 1200 seats.

Moving out from her Bhowanipore bastion, Mamata Banerjee took up the challenge of fighting the polls from Nandigram, a seat which is Suvendu Adhikari's home turf and witnessed a tight battle between the two leaders.

Suvendu had joined the Bharatiya Janata Party by quitting the TMC ahead of the Assembly polls, giving the Mamata Banerjee-led government in the state a jolt.

Despite trailing in the initial rounds, Banerjee kept maintaining a slim lead over Suvendu in the later rounds and eventually won the seat by 1200 votes.

The Bharatiya Janata Party faltered to deliver a strong result in the polls and so far it is ahead in just 78 seats while the TMC is marching ahead in 212.

The Sanjukta Morcha is leading in just 1 seat.