April 20, 2021 03:17 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Bengal Polls 2021: BJP cancels big rallies, roadshows amid Covid-19 spread | UP govt refuses to follow Allahabad High Court's order to impose lockdown in 5 cities | Britain adds India to its travel ban 'red list' after Covid surge | Delhi govt orders summer vacation in city schools from tomorrow till June 9 | Vaccination for all above 18 years to commence from May 1: Centre
Assam polls: BJP denies tickets to 11 sitting MLAs, Sarbananda Sonowal to contest from Majuli Assam
Image Credit: Sarbananda Sonowal Twitter handle

Assam polls: BJP denies tickets to 11 sitting MLAs, Sarbananda Sonowal to contest from Majuli

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 05 Mar 2021, 10:05 pm

Guwahati/IBNS: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday released its 70-candidate list out of 126 assembly seats in the eastern state of Assam for the upcoming elections.

The BJP party has denied tickets to 11 sitting MLAs including a minister this time and replaced them with new faces.

The BJP party has replaced the sitting MLAs with new faces in Sonari, Bihpuria, Lahowal, Silchar, Borkhola, Katigarah, Haflong, Diphu, Baithalangso and Nalbari assembly constituencies.

The saffron party has denied ticket to sitting MLA from Diphu assembly constituency and minister of the Sonowal cabinet Sum Ronghang and replaced him with former MLA Bidya Sing Enegleng.

Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal will contest from Majuli while his cabinet colleague and finance minister Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma will contest from Jalukbari constituency and state BJP president Ranjeet Kumar Dass from Patacharkuchi constituency.

In 2016, Ranjeet Kumar Dass was elected to the Assam Legislative Assembly from Sorbhog constituency.

On the other hand, BJP will contest in four other constituencies where its ally party Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) won these seats in 2016.

BJP has announced its candidate in Barhampur assembly constituency from where former Chief Minister and senior leader of AGP Prafulla Kumar Mahanta has been elected to the Assam Legislative Assembly since 1985.