March 04, 2021 11:42 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Eight injured in 'suspected terrorist stabbing' in Sweden: Reports | Hardoi: UP man beheads daughter after being upset over her relationship | Santhali actor Birbaha Hansda joins Trinamool Congress | 'He is against Punjab': Man stops Ajay Devgn's car in Mumbai | 'Shocking': Nusrat Jahan attacks Yogi Adityanath over women's safety in UP as he campaigns for Bengal polls
Himachal: BJP fails to get majority in Hamirpur Zila parishad Himachal Pradesh
Image Credit: India Blooms File

Himachal: BJP fails to get majority in Hamirpur Zila parishad

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 23 Jan 2021, 12:53 pm

Hamirpur/UNI: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has failed to take full control of the Hamirpur Zila parishad as it got only nine out of eighteen seats, the results of which were declared late last night.

Two BJP (rebels) contesting as independent won the elections and six seats went to the Congress party. CPI-M also won one seat from the district and outclassed BJP and Congress both from Larha ward.

Since seat of the chairperson of the Hamirpur Zila parishad has been reserved for the SC (Women), Babli Devi of the BJP, who won from Daroghan Patti Kot (SC Women ward), may become the new chairperson of the Zila parishad as both the BJP rebels are likely to rejoin the main stream of the party and giving clear cut majority to the party in the house.

Following are the winners: Bagehra: Captain Ranjit Singh (BJP), Karot: Sumna Devi(Congress), Droghan Patti kot: Babli Devi(BJP), Dhalot: Mohinder Singh(Congress), Jangel Ropa: Naresh Kumar Darji( BJP rebel), Dheerar: Pavan Kumar( Independent, (BJP rebel), Jahoo: Raj Kumari(Congress), Kharwar: Raman Verma( BJP), Bhoranj: Meenu Bala(BJP), Karer: Rajesh Kumar Manga( BJP), Bijheri: Meena Kumari( Congress), Badsar: Veena Sharma(BJP), Dandroo: Sanjeev Kumar Sharma(BJP), Larha: Sanjeev Kumar (CPM), Malag: Sanjeev Jaswal( Congress), Bela: Indu Bala(BJP) and Naunghi: Ashish Dogra(BJP).

For the first time any leftist candidate was able to create its dent in the district and win the Zila parishad seat.

The rebellion in the BJP led to its defeat in six more wards otherwise it would have taken a clear cut majority in the Zila parishad.

Meanwhile, hectic political activities have started in the district for the formation of the Zila parishad and six block samitis of the district.

There are reports that a high level meeting of the newly elected Zila parishad members of the BJP is likely to be held at Samirpur residence of former Chief Minister and senior BJP leader, Prem Kumar Dhumal to seek his guidance about the formation of the new body.

Baldev Sharma, the district BJP chief, is also likely to attend the meeting as the party head.