June 09, 2023 19:50 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Eknath Shinde appeals for peace in Kolhapur after protest over 'objectionable' posts on historical figures | Wrestler 'not minor': Father reveals adding new twist in case against federation chief | Longtime rivals to come together at Oppositions' big Patna meet on June 23 | Wrestlers pause protest till June 15 after a five-hour meeting with Anurag Thakur | 'Biggest train accident of this century, yet efforts being made to suppress facts': Mamata Banerjee slams Centre
WB: North Kanthi MLA Banasri Maitry quits Trinamool Congress Banasri Maity
Image credit: Banasri Maity Facebook Page

WB: North Kanthi MLA Banasri Maitry quits Trinamool Congress

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 18 Dec 2020, 11:50 pm

Kolkata/IBNS: In continuation with the trend of rebel leaders quitting the Trinamool Congress (TMC) party in West Bengal ahead of Assembly elections next year, North Kanthi MLA Banasri Maity on Friday resigned from the primary membership of the party.

In her resignation letter, she wrote: "I do hereby tender my resignation from the primary membership of All India Trinamool Congress as well as from each and every post or assignment given to me in connection with my membership of the party."

Earlier in the day, Barrackpore MLA Silbhadra Datta quit the Trinamool Congress.

Datta, who was a disgruntled Trinamool MLA, said, "I thought I am not the right person in the current politics.

"I have been talking with the Trinamool leadership for a long time. I have mailed my resignation letter to the Trinamool chairperson."

However, he has not resigned as the MLA saying he was elected in people's votes.

"No, I am not resigning as the MLA. I was elected by the people. Who would serve people if I resign? I would resign only if people want," Datta said.

Poll strategist Prashant Kishor's Indian Political Action Committee (I-PAC), which is looking after the Trinamool's campaign, had even reached out to Datta to iron out the differences.

But Datta had refused to discuss organisational matters with any representatives of I-PAC.

Banerjee's Trinamool suffered a double blow on Thursday as two of its leaders, Suvendu Adhikari and Jitendra Tiwari, had quit the Trinamool amid speculations of their joining in the BJP.