January 28, 2021 20:50 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Not a case of no evidence: Madhya Pradesh High Court rejects bail plea of comedian Munawar Faruqui | Delhi Violence: ‘Look out Notice’ issued against rioters, accused farmer leaders | Late Tamil Nadu CM Jayalalithaa's Poes Garden residence turned into memorial | India reports less than 12,000 Covid-19 cases in 24 hours | Farmers' rally violence: Actor Deep Sidhu under scanner for 'provoking tension'
NCP retains Marathwada Graduate constituency seat Marathwada

NCP retains Marathwada Graduate constituency seat

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 04 Dec 2020, 09:51 am

Aurangabad/UNI: NCP candidate Satish Chavan won the Marathwada Graduate constituency elections third time in row by 57,895 votes defeating his nearest rival BJP's Shirish Boralkar.

With the win, NCP retained the seat and Mr Chavan made hattrick by winning 2008, 2014 and 2020 elections in row.

Chavan got 1,16,638 votes in five rounds while the BJP candidate Boralkar received 58,743 votes in the counting which had began on Thursday morning and completed at wee hours on Friday.

It may be noted that there were 35 candidates in the fray, prominent among them were sitting MLC Satish Chavan of NCP, Shirish Boralkar of BJP and others from smaller parties as well as Independents.

There were total 3,74,045 graduate male and female voters in the constituency Comprising eight district.

Of which 2,41,908 voters franchised their rights. Of them 23,092 votes found invalid and 2,18,816 were valid votes.

The winning quota has decided 1,09409 votes which Mr Chavan managed to touch after fifth round of first preference votes and returning officer and Divisional Commissioner Mr Sunil Kendrekar declared elected to him early this morning.

Rest of 33 candidates from Smaller parties and independents candidates not put much impact just managed few votes in their favour.