October 22, 2021 01:45 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
After decades Haryana got an honest govt: PM Modi praises Manohar Lal Khattar | PM Modi thanks world leaders for their wishes on India crossing 100 crore vaccinations | 'Stop talking about secularism': Amarinder Singh attacks Congress | 'Diwali ad featuring Aamir Khan hurts Hindu sentiments': BJP MP | Ananya Pandey leaves NCB office after 2 hrs questioning, called to appear again tomorrow
'Nitish Kumar will be next Bihar CM': BJP's Sushil Modi NDA In Bihar
Image Credit: UNI

'Nitish Kumar will be next Bihar CM': BJP's Sushil Modi

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 11 Nov 2020, 12:42 pm

Patna/IBNS: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday cleared Janata Dal (United) supremo Nitish Kumar will be the next Bihar Chief Minister despite the saffron party emerging as the best performer in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), which won the state polls.

"Nitishji (Nitish Kumar) will remain Chief Minister as it was our commitment. There is no confusion on this," Bihar Deputy CM and BJP leader, Sushil Modi told NDTV.

Modi said BJP and JD(U) are equal partners in the NDA irrespective of the seats the two parties have won.

Kumar, who is set to become the CM for the fifth term, has already announced the 2020 polls would be his last in his long political career.

Though NDA's Chief Ministerial candidate Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal (United) was reduced to 40 odd seats in the polls, it was Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led BJP which pulled the alliance to the victory mark.

In a sea-saw battle which went on for more than 15 hours, the NDA managed to win 125 seats, two more than the halfway mark, as opposed to Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)-led Mahagathbandhan's 110 seats.

While the JD(U) could win only 43 seats, it was BJP's 74 seats along with a few from smaller allies that took the alliance to the majority mark.

Though RJD has emerged as the single largest party with 75 seats, the alliance was pulled back by the Congress, which could win only 19 seats, though the Left parties have performed reasonably well.