August 18, 2022 19:51 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Maharashtra: Terror attack foiled? Australian boat with weapons found ahead of festival | Supreme Court asks Centre to take steps to lift AIFF ban | Congress slams Centre for Bilkis Bano rape convicts' release | Property of militant who killed Kashmiri Pandit in Shopian attached | Sexual harassment charge not attracted when woman wears 'sexually provocative dresses': Kerala court
Jharkhand Assembly: Voting begins for bypolls on Dumka, Bermo Jharkhand Bypolls

Jharkhand Assembly: Voting begins for bypolls on Dumka, Bermo

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 03 Nov 2020, 09:33 am

Ranchi/UNI: Voting on Tuesday morning commenced for the bypolls on Dumka (ST) and Bermo Seats of the Jharkhand Assembly.

Eligible voters would be able to cast their votes in Dumka constituency from 0700hrs to 1700hrs while in Bermo the polling would be held from 0700hrs to 1600hrs.

The district administrations of Dumka and Bokaro have made all the preparations for the polls in wake of Covid-19 guidelines issued by the Election Commission of India for conducting smooth elections.

For the prestigious Dumka seat the main battle is between Basant Soren of the JMM and Dr Lois Marandi of the BJP. The total number of male voters on this seat is 1,26,210 while that of the female voters is 1,24,510.

Similarly in Bermo the main battle is between Jaimangal Singh of the Congress party and Yogeshwar Mahto Batul of the BJP.

The bypolls on these two seats has been necessitated as Hemant Soren won from both Dumka and Barhet seats but later resigned from Dumka and took oath as MLA from Barhet while the Bermo seat fell vacant following the demise of Rajendra Singh.