June 13, 2024 06:24 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
After heated campaigns, PM Modi shares pleasantries with Naveen Patnaik at Odisha oath ceremony | Newly formed Odisha govt decides to reopen all gates of Puri Jagannath Temple in first cabinet meet | Kuwait building fire kills 40 Indian nationals, PM Modi holds high-level meeting | 'Deeply shocked, will render fullest assistance': S Jaishankar on Kuwait building fire that killed 40 Indians | One CRPF, two terrorists killed in Jammu and Kashmir encounter
Uttar Pradesh: Prof Ram Gopal Yadav files nominations for biennial RS polls
Samajwadi Party

Uttar Pradesh: Prof Ram Gopal Yadav files nominations for biennial RS polls

| @indiablooms | 21 Oct 2020, 01:56 pm

Lucknow/UNI: Samajwadi Party (SP) candidate Prof Ram Gopal Yadav filed his nomination papers here on Wednesday for the 10 Rajya Sabha seats from Uttar Pradesh for which polling is slated for November 9.

SP president Akhilesh Yadav, leader of the opposition in state assembly Ram Govind Choudhury and Legislator Ujjawal Raman Singh along with other leaders were present during filing of the nominations.

SP candidate filed 2 sets of nominations before the returning officers.

Notification of the biennial polls was issued on Tuesday while the last date for filing of the nominations is October 27.

Scrutiny of the nominations would be done on October 28 while November 2 is the last date of withdrawals.

If possible the polling would be held on November 9 and the results would be declared on the same day itself.

The members of the state assembly are the voters for this election.

As BJP has around 310 seats in the 403 members house, the ruling party is likely to win 8 of the 10 comfortably while SP with 46 seats can win one seat and one seat can be won by a joint opposition.

There are eight vacancies in the state assembly and hence strength will decrease to 395 votes.

The winning candidate will have to get at least 34 votes to get elected.

Except for SP no other party including BJP have announced their candidates so far.

The members whose term would end on November 25, 2020, are Union Minister and BJP member Hardeep Singh Puri, BJP national general secretary Arun Singh, BJP's Neeraj Shekhar, SP's Ram Gopal Yadav, Ravi Prakash Verma, Dr Chandrapal Singh Yadav and Javed Ali Khan, BSP's Veer Singh and Rajaram and Congress member P L Punia.  

Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.