August 11, 2020 03:12 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
After Vivo exit, Ramdev's Patanjali considering to bid for IPL title sponsorship | Assam: Massive fire in Jorhat kills two, several injured | Former President Pranab Mukherjee tests positive for Covid-19 | Kashmir: Two militant OGWs arrested, arms, ammunition recovered in Sopore | Kashmir: Injured BJP worker dies, large number of people attend last rites
Women grab all key government posts in Assam’s Nalbari district

Women grab all key government posts in Assam’s Nalbari district

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 05 Jul 2020, 11:03 am

Guwahati/IBNS: What is women’s empowerment – an Assam district has showed it after eves occupied all key government posts of the district including the head of the district.

From Deputy Commissioner (DC), Superintendent of Police (SP), Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) to Chief Executive officer of Zila Parishad – women now grabbed all key government posts in Assam’s Nalbari district.

Assam Civil Service (ACS) officer Purabi Konwar recently joined as the first woman Deputy Commissioner of Nalbari district.

After Purabi Konwar joined as the Deputy Commissioner, the lower Assam district has become women ruled district as all key posts have been occupied by women officers.

Earlier IPS officer Amanjeet Kaur joined as the Superintendent of Police (SP) of the district, who was earlier posted as the deputy commissioner of police (traffic) in Guwahati.

Apart from it, the district has Deputy Superintendent of Police (DSP) Jupi Bordoloi.

Senior ACS officer Krishna Baruah is the Chief Executive officer of Zila Parishad of Nalbari district.

On the other hand, out of seven revenue circles of the district, four are headed by women officers – Banashree Deka (Nalbari-Sadar), Nandita Hazarika (Ghagrapara), Shilpika Kalita (Banekuchi) and Rituparna Bhadra (Borbhag).

Apart from it, many other women officers are now presently working in different government departments in the district.

There are five judges in Nalbari district – District and Sessions judge Sharmila Bhuyan, Assistant Sessions judge Hemakhi Thakuria Buragohain, Additional Chief Judicial Magistrate Sarbina Bhattacharya, Judicial Magistrate (1st class) Smriti Rekha Bhuyan and Munsif Rubina Yasmin.

Nalbari district Deputy Commissioner Purabi Konwar said: “Women officers have been posted in all major key posts in the district. I am hoping that we will do better with a good team for the people of the district.”

According to 2011 census, population in Nalbari district was 7,71,639 of which 3,96,006 were male and 375,633 female.


(By Hemanta Kumar Nath, Guwahati)