November 25, 2020 19:00 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Malayalam film Jallikattu becomes India's official entry to Oscars 2021 | 'Didi keeping all track': 'Trinamool Congress observer' Mamata Banerjee's message to party | 'CPI-M surrendered itself to BJP to avoid facing consequences of corruption': Mamata Banerjee | Lalu Prasad trying to poach NDA MLAs, alleges Sushil Modi | 'Lost an impeccable comrade, faithful colleague, friend': Sonia Gandhi on Ahmed Patel's death
NPP nominee Dr. Kharlukhi elected as RS member from Meghalaya

NPP nominee Dr. Kharlukhi elected as RS member from Meghalaya

India Blooms News Sservice | @indiablooms | 19 Jun 2020, 05:37 pm

Shillong/UNI: National People’s Party (NPP) candidate Dr. Wanwei Roy Kharlukhi was on Friday elected as the Rajya Sabha member from Meghalaya defeating his Congress rival, Kennedy Khyriem by 20 votes.

With this win, the NPP will now represent Meghalaya in both the Houses of Parliament with Agatha Sangma being the sitting Lok Sabha member from Tura.

Dr. Kharlukhi, who is also the president of NPP Meghalaya State unit, was the consensus candidate of the ruling Meghalaya Democratic Alliance government headed by Chief Minister Conrad Sangma.

The NPP candidate garnered 39 votes in his favour out of the total 58 valid votes that were cast in the 60-member house. The Congress candidate secured 19 votes in his favour.

One vote polled was declared invalid. While lone Khun Hynniewtrep National Awakening Movement (KHNAM) legislator, Adelbert Nongrum abstained from voting in protest against the NPP voting in favour of the Citizenship Amendment Act in the Lok Sabha.

The lone Rajya Sabha seat from Meghalaya fell vacant after the term of Congress leader,  Wansuk Syiem expired on April 12 this year.

Dr Kharlukhi is known close to the former Lok Sabha Speaker Purno Agitok Sangma family since the latter co-founded the Nationalist Congress Party with Sharad Pawar and Tariq Anwar.

Chief Minister Conrad Sangma has congratulated Dr. Kharlukhi on being elected as a Rajya Sabha member and thanked all the MDA partners for bestowing their support.

The MDA comprises Bharatiya Janata Party,  United Democratic Party, People’s Democratic Front, Hill State People’s Democratic Party,  Nationalist Congress Party   and one Independent member.