March 04, 2021 21:10 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Shiv Sena to not contest Bengal polls, extends support to TMC | Eight injured in 'suspected terrorist stabbing' in Sweden: Reports | Hardoi: UP man beheads daughter after being upset over her relationship | Santhali actor Birbaha Hansda joins Trinamool Congress | 'He is against Punjab': Man stops Ajay Devgn's car in Mumbai
MP Guv asks Kamal Nath to take floor test tomorrow

MP Guv asks Kamal Nath to take floor test tomorrow

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 16 Mar 2020, 03:04 pm

Bhopal/IBNS: Madhya Pradesh Governor Lalji Tandon on Monday asked the Kamal Nath-led government to take the floor test on Tuesday.

He said that "If you don't take a floor test by March 17, it will be assumed that you have lost your majority."

This comes hours after Speaker N.P. Prajapati adjournment of the house till Mar 26 over Novel Coronavirus fears, giving a somewhat breather to CM Kamal Nath.

Prajapati adjourned the house after Parliamentary Affairs Minister Govind Singh raised the concerns over Coronavirus.

Meanwhile, the Supreme Court has agreed to hear on Tuesday the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)'s plea to hold an urgent floor test in Madhya Pradesh assembly.

Earlier, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath had said holding the floor test would be "undemocratic" as 22 Congress MLAs were allegedly held captive by the BJP.

The Kamal Nath government fell into crisis a week ago after 22 Congress MLAs resigned.

All the MLAs were the loyalists of BJP leader Jyotiraditya Scindia who resigned as the Congress member only last week.

If the resignations of the MLAs are accepted, the Congress government will certainly be "minority" paving the path for the BJP to assume power 15 months after getting defeated in the state elections.

If the resignations are accepted, the majority of the 230-member assembly will fall to 104 as two seats are presently vacant.

Even with the support of its allies Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Samajwadi Party (SP) and four Independents, the Congress' tally will reach only 99 while the BJP will sail through with its own 107 MLAs.