January 27, 2021 09:01 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Additional security forces in Delhi after farmers' protest turns violent | TMC MLA Prabir Ghoshal resigns from party posts after being show caused for his alleged 'anti-party' statements | Farmers' tractor rally turns violent in Delhi, one protester dies | Farmers' tractor rally meets chaos in Delhi border on India's Republic Day | Republic Day: PM Modi pays homage at National War Memorial
Rajya Sabha polls: AIADMK, DMK nominees all set to win six seats

Rajya Sabha polls: AIADMK, DMK nominees all set to win six seats

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 16 Mar 2020, 10:31 am

Chennai/UNI: Three candidates each from the ruling AIADMK and the Opposition DMK are all set to be elected to the Rajya Sabha from the Tamil Nadu Assembly as their nomination papers were found in order on scrutiny on Monday.

Election Officer and Legislative Assembly Secretary K Srinivasan, in a release here said, the nomination papers of former Lok Sabha member M Thambidurai and

K P Munusamy (both AIADMK) and TMC leader G K Vasan, who is an ally of the AIADMK, and N R Elango, Trichy N Siva and Anthiyur Selvaraj (all DMK) were found in order, while the papers of three independents were rejected.

Since all the six candidates will win easily based on their party's strength in the Assembly, they will be declared elected unopposed.

The biennial elections to fill six Rajya Sabha seats will be held on March 26 and both the AIADMK and the DMK by virtue of its strength in the State Assembly could win three seats each comfortably.

The elections would be held to fill the vacancies to be caused due to the retirement of Vijila Sathyanath, S.Muthukaruppan, A.K.Selvaraj (all AIADMK), Ms Sasikala Pushpa (who won on AIADMK but has now since joined the BJP, Tiruchi Siva and T K Rangarajan (CPI-M) on April 2.

The AIADMK has 125 members (including the Speaker) in the 234-member assembly. The DMK has 98, while its allies Congress has seven members and IUML one,
besides an Independent--TTV Dhinakaran, who was elected from RK Nagar.

Two seats remain vacant following the death of two DMK members.

Each candidate needs the support of 33 MLAs and both the AIADMK and the DMK could win the polls without much ado.