March 04, 2021 20:23 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Eight injured in 'suspected terrorist stabbing' in Sweden: Reports | Hardoi: UP man beheads daughter after being upset over her relationship | Santhali actor Birbaha Hansda joins Trinamool Congress | 'He is against Punjab': Man stops Ajay Devgn's car in Mumbai | 'Shocking': Nusrat Jahan attacks Yogi Adityanath over women's safety in UP as he campaigns for Bengal polls
Supreme Court agrees to hear BJP's Madhya Pradesh floor test plea tomorrow

Supreme Court agrees to hear BJP's Madhya Pradesh floor test plea tomorrow

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 16 Mar 2020, 09:24 am

New Delhi/Bhopal/IBNS: The Supreme Court has agreed to hear on Tuesday the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)'s plea to hold an urgent floor test in Madhya Pradesh assembly after the saffron party felt upset over Speaker N.P. Prajapati's adjournment of the house till Mar 26 over Novel Coronavirus fears, media reports said.

Though Governor Lalji Tandon had ordered a floor test, Speaker Prajapati adjourned the house after Parliamentary Affairs Minister Govind Singh raised the concerns over Coronavirus.

Earlier, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath had said holding the floor test would be "undemocratic" as 22 Congress MLAs were allegedly held captive by the BJP.

The Kamal Nath government fell into crisis a week ago after 22 Congress MLAs resigned.

All the MLAs were the loyalists of BJP leader Jyotiraditya Scindia who resigned as the Congress member only last week.

If the resignations of the MLAs are accepted, the Congress government will certainly be "minority" paving the path for the BJP to assume power 15 months after getting defeated in the state elections.

If the resignations are accepted, the majority of the 230-member assembly will fall to 104 as two seats are presently vacant.

Even with the support of its allies Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Samajwadi Party (SP) and four Independents, the Congress' tally will reach only 99 while the BJP will sail through with its own 107 MLAs.