December 05, 2020 13:52 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
BJP makes big gains in GHMC election, ruling TRS emerges largest party | GHMC vote counting: TRS takes comfortable lead, BJP lags behind AIMIM | Mamata Banerjee speaks with protesting farmers lending support to farmers' protest | Coronavirus vaccine to be ready in next few weeks: PM Modi | India reports over 36,000 Covid-19 cases in 24 hours, 540 deaths
Election Commission announces poll dates to 55 RS seats in 17 states

Election Commission announces poll dates to 55 RS seats in 17 states

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 25 Feb 2020, 06:27 am

New Delhi/UNI: The Election Commission (EC) on Tuesday announced polls to 55 Rajya Sabha seats in 17 states, where the term of the members will end in April 2020.

According to the Commission, the polls will be held on March 26 and the counting of votes will be held on the same day.

While the poll body will be issued the notification for the polls to be held on March 6, the last date for filing nominations will be March 13.

Scrutiny of nominations will be held on March 16 and the last date for withdrawal of candidates will be on March 18.

As per Commission order, seven seats in Maharashtra, four in Odisha, six in Tamil Nadu and five in West Bengal will fall vacant on April 2.

While the term of four seats each in Andhra Pradesh and Gujarat, two each in Telangana, Haryana, Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh, three each in Assam and Madhya Pradesh, five in Bihar and one seat each in Manipur and Himachal Pradesh will end on April 9 and the term of one seat in Meghalaya will get over on April 12.

Senior Congress leaders Digvijaya Singh (Madhya Pradesh), Motilal Vora (Chhattisgarh), Kumari Selja (Haryana) Viplove Thakur (Himachal Pradesh), Madhusudan Mistry (Gujarat) and Union Minister Ramdas Athavale (Maharashtra), industrialist Parimal Nathwani, BJP’s Prem Chand Gupta (Jharkhand), BJP’s Vijay Goel (Rajasthan) and DMK’s Thiruchi Siva are among the leaders, whose term will be end in April.