September 26, 2020 10:38 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Deepika Padukone arrives for NCB questioning in drug probe | Your message distasteful: Anushka Sharma slams Sunil Gavaskar for dragging her while criticising Virat Kohli | Iconic singer SP Balasubrahmanyam passes away | Bihar Polls to be held in three phases from Oct 28, results on Nov 10 | Drug Probe: Rakul Preet Singh appears before NCB
Shaurya Chakra for Subedar Sombir, Vayu Sena medals for IAF pilots

Shaurya Chakra for Subedar Sombir, Vayu Sena medals for IAF pilots

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 25 Jan 2020, 08:44 pm

New Delhi/UNI: On the occasion of 73rd Republic Day, six Army personnel have been awarded with military gallantry awards this year- “the Shaurya Chakra”.

Naib Subedar Sombir, who died while fighting terrorists in Jammu and Kashmir on February 2019, has been given the award posthumously.

Lt Col Jyoti Lama, Maj Konjenbham Bijendra Singh, Naib Subedhar Narender Singh, Naik Naresh Kumar and Karmdeo Oraon were the other brave men honoured with this award.

Shaurya Chakra is awarded to the armed forces for instances of extraordinary gallantry.

Squadron Leaders Ninad Mandavgane and Siddharth Vashisht, the two pilots of the Mi17 V5 helicopter, who died after the chopper was shot down by friendly fire in February last year during the dogfight between Indian and Pakistani fighter aircrafts, were among the four awardees of Vayu-Sena Medal.

The helicopter was hit by a surface-to-air missile fired by the Indian Air Force in Kashmir’s Budgam on the morning of February 27, following the failure of command and control.

Havildar Baljeet, Naik Sandeep, Naik Buta Singh, Naik Kuldeep Singh and Rifleman Anil Kumar Jaiswal have also been honoured posthumously with Sena Medal. A total of 107 Sena Medals were announced.

A total of 30 top armed forces personnel, including Northern Army Commander Lt Gen Ranbir Singh and Eastern Army Commander Lt Gen Anil Chauhanc have been awarded Param Vishisht Seva Medals (PVSM).

Vice Chief of Indian Army Lt Gen S K Saini, G Ashok Kumar, the vice chief of the navy and Indian Air Force Vice Chief Air Marshal Harjit Singh Arora were also awarded PVSMs.

Besides, Eastern Naval Command Flag Officer Commanding-in-Chief Vice Admiral AK Jain and Southern Naval Command Flag Officer Commanding-in-Chief Vice Admiral AK Chawla have also been awarded with Param Vishisht Seva Medal (PVSM).

President Kovind also approved four Uttam Yudh Seva Medals (UYSM) for top Army generals including Lt Gen Y K Joshi, who will soon take charge of the Northern Army Command.

The President also approved five Nau Sena Medals (gallantry), four Bar to Sena Medals (devotion to duty), 36 Sena Medals (devotion to duty), eight Nau Sena Medals (devotion to duty), one Bar to Vayu Sena Medal (devotion to duty) and 13 Vayu Sena Medals (devotion to duty).