September 24, 2022 21:36 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Haryana govt accepts protesting farmers' demands over paddy procurement, highway blockade ends | Body of Ankita Bhandari, who was reported missing, recovered: Uttarakhand CM | BJP top leader on Tripura tour to prepare party for assembly poll | Assam BJP's three-day Chintan shivir to design roadmap for next five years | Punjab Guv working at BJP's behest to implement 'Operation Lotus', alleges AAP
No 50:50 seat sharing deal with BJP in next Bihar Assembly polls: Prashant Kishor

No 50:50 seat sharing deal with BJP in next Bihar Assembly polls: Prashant Kishor

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 30 Dec 2019, 07:09 am

Patna/IBNS: Poll strategist and Janata Dal(United) leader Prashant Kishor has again sparked controversy by saying that JD(U) should get a bigger share in the seat-sharing agreement in the Assembly elections slated next year even as party chief Nitish Kumar is yet to spell out a formula.

Kishor, who is a second in command in JD(U), said the party should get more than 50 per cent seats in the upcoming Bihar Assembly elections, instead of the 50:50 alliance agreement with BJP in the last Lok Sabha polls.

Earlier today, Kishor said the seat-sharing formula will be the same as 2009 and 2010 Assembly elections when asked if Nitish Kumar would make his stand clear on CAA and NRC after striking a seat-sharing deal with BJP. 

"As far as my understanding is concerned, it (the seat share) should be one is to 1.4 as was the practice in 2009 and 2010 assembly elections," he was quoted as saying by NDTV, and added that he felt BJP would revisit the alliance agreement on the matter.

Kishor denied that there was any connection between NRC and CAA and JD(U)-BJP seat sharing. He claimed that there was no doubt that the seat sharing agreement talks would be done on the basis of 1.4:1 as JD(U) was the bigger party in Bihar with more MLAs than BJP.