April 15, 2021 04:05 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Bengal Elections: Video clip on Sitalkuchi incident goes viral | Karnataka reports 11,265 Covid cases, highest one-day spike this year | No decision to cut short Kumbh Mela: Officials | Delhi reports over 17000 fresh Covid cases setting a new single-day record | Rajasthan announces 12-hr daily Covid curfew from 6 pm to 6 am in all cities
Jharkhand vote counting: JMM-Congress takes early lead

Jharkhand vote counting: JMM-Congress takes early lead

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 23 Dec 2019, 03:15 am

Ranchi/IBNS: Counting of votes for the 81 seats of the Jharkhand Assembly started on Monday morning as early trends showed both the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha-Congress-Rashtriya Janata Dal alliance are fighting neck-to-neck to gain grounds.

Early trends showed the alliance is leading in 30 seats while the BJP is ahead in 27.

Counting of the votes commenced at all the district headquarters across 82 halls for which a total of 1478 tables have been set.

It is expected that the first trends would be available from 0900hrs. The first result is expected around 1300hrs and the last around 2000hrs. The results from Torpa and Chandankiyari will be out first as here only counting of 13 rounds will be held whereas Chatra would be the most delayed due to 28 rounds of counting.

State Chief Electoral Officer Vinay Kumar Choubey said that in all the district headquarters counting of votes has commenced. A minimum of 14 tables have been set up in Hatia for counting while for Saraikela seat a maximum of 26 tables have been set.

First the postal ballots will be counted after which the votes in the EVM will be counted. After the report of one round is finalised then only the second round of counting will take place. On every counting table a counting assistant, counting supervisor and counting micro observer will be present. The counting agents of the various parties and returning officer will be also present at the table.

As per the instructions of the Election Commission of India after the end of counting EVMs of five booths of the concerned assembly area will be randomly matched and there after results will be declared.

In the previous Assembly Elections of 2014 BJP had won 37 seats, AJSU 5 seats, JMM 19 seats, JVM-P 8 seats, Congress 6 seats and Others 6 seats.