September 19, 2020 23:49 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
TMC hits out at Narendra Modi government for holding UGC NET during Durga Puja | IPL 2020: CSK win toss, elect to bowl first | IPL 2020 begins today with CSK-MI clash | Karnataka drug scandal: Santosh, Akul, Yuvraj appear before CCB | Kashmir: Suspected militants snatch rifle from bank guard in Pulwama
Uddhav Thackeray-led Aghadi government wins floor test easily after BJP walks out of assembly
Image Credit: Shiv Sena Twitter

Uddhav Thackeray-led Aghadi government wins floor test easily after BJP walks out of assembly

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 30 Nov 2019, 09:49 am

Mumbai/IBNS: Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray-led Maha Vikas Aghadi government won the floor test comfortably minutes after the 105 Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLAs walked out of the assembly protesting against the alleged flouting of rules by the ruling party on several occasions.

The Aghadi comprising the MLAs from Shiv Sena, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Congress had a smooth sail inside the assembly as it has won the floor test by 169-0.

Among the 169, 56, 54 and 44 were the MLAs from Sena, NCP and Congress and eight from the Independents who have extended support to the Aghadi.

However the Speaker will be elected on Sunday.

The BJP MLAs staged the walkout after Fadnavis said Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav and his colleagues didn't take oath correctly at the Shivaji Park here on Thursday.

Fadnavis objected to the additional words uttered by Uddhav and his ministers while taking the oath.

The former Maharashtra Chief Minister told media outside the assembly, "Pro-Tem Speaker was never changed this way earlier. All rules were flouted."

Also the former Maharashtra Chief Minister objected to the change in Pro-Tem Speaker brought ahead of the special assembly session which is taking place on Saturday.

Fadnavis-led BJP MLAs have decided to meet Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari.

(Image Credit: Shiv Sena Twitter)