May 31, 2024 02:58 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Powerful solar storm headed towards Earth, likely to cause blackouts | 16 die of heat-related causes in 2 hours in Bihar hospital | PM Modi reaches Kanniyakumari to meditate at Vivekananda Rock | 'Final chance to ensure our democracy is protected': Manmohan Singh's emotional appeal to voters | Liquor policy case: Delhi court seeks ED's response on Arvind Kejriwal's bail plea
Uddhav Thackeray to be the Maharashtra CM: Sharad Pawar after tri-party meet
Shiv Sena Facebook page

Uddhav Thackeray to be the Maharashtra CM: Sharad Pawar after tri-party meet

| @indiablooms | 22 Nov 2019, 04:35 pm

Mumbai/IBNS: Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray has been chosen as the Chief Ministerial candidate of Maharashtra with the consent of both the Congress as well as the Nationalist Congress Party after the Sena-NCP-Congress alliance in the state agreed on the common minimum programme.

In their first joint meeting of the three parties in Mumbai on Friday, both Congress and NCP have agreed to a full five-year term for a Shiv Sena Chief Minister and a common minimum programme is being worked upon to accommodate the agendas of the collaborating parties.

"We all have consensus on the name of Uddhav Thackeray as Chief Minister," Sharad Pawar told mediapersons after concluding the meeting at the Nehru Science Centre.

After a while, Uddhav came out with his son Aaditya and said: "Discussions were positive, fruitful."

The tri-party talks would continue on Saturday as well but for now, it is almost confirmed that Maharashtra will have a Sena chief minister after 20 years.

Earlier, Uddhav and son Aaditya met Pawar at his residence on Thursday night.

After the poll results which came out on Oct 24, the Sena had demanded 50:50 power share in the government and rotational Chief Ministership which were rejected by the BJP.

Following the rejection of the demands, the Sena and BJP parted their ways.

The BJP has 105 seats, 40 less than the majority (145) while the Sena won 56 seats.

The NCP and Congress, which fought the polls in an alliance, have 54 and 44 seats respectively.

Shiv Sena Facebook page


Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.