January 19, 2021 22:51 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Bengal assembly election: Full bench of ECI arrives in Kolkata tomorrow to review poll preparedness | India win Brisbane Test against Australia by 3 wickets, clinch series 2-1 | Cancer Institute pioneer Dr. V Shanta passes away | Decline: India records 10,064 COVID-19 cases, 137 deaths | Masterstroke or nervousness? Mamata Banerjee's surprising Nandigram candidature stuns all
BJP declares candidates for by-polls in West Bengal

BJP declares candidates for by-polls in West Bengal

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 02 Nov 2019, 04:13 pm

Kolkata/IBNS: BJP on Saturday declared its candidates for West Bengal assembly by-polls scheduled for Nov 25.

BJP West Bengal Vice-President Joy Prakash Majumder has been nominated for the Karimpur assembly seat while  Prem Chandra Jha has been fielded from Kharagpur Sadar. Kamal Chandra Sarkar has been declared the party candidate from Kaliaganj assembly seat in North Dinajpur district, the party said today.

The Left Front and Congress have entered into an alliance for the by-polls in the state.

Joy Prakash Majumder will face contest from CPM's Golam Rabbi and TMC's Bimalendu Singha Roy in the Karimpur seat.

In the Kharagpur Sadar seat, which is a BJP bastion,  Prem Chandra Jha will be challenged by Left Front supported Congress candidate  Chittaranjan Mandal and TMC nominee Pradip Sarkar.

The Kaliaganj seat, which fell vacant after sitting Congress lawmaker Pramathanath Roy passed away, will have Trinamools's Tapan Deb Singha
and Left's Dhitasree Roy in the fray.

The by-poll to the Kharagpur Sadar seat was necessitated following incumbent MLA and BJP state unit president Dilip Ghosh's won the Medinipur Lok Sabha seat.

Similarly, Nadia district's Karimpur assembly seat was vacated after its MLA Mohua Mitra was elected to Lok Sabha from Krishnanagar.