December 02, 2020 17:56 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Virat Kohli surpasses Sachin Tendulkar to score fastest 12,000 runs in ODIs | 'If Suvendu Adhikari changes mind, he must convey': Trinamool MP Saugata Roy amid reports of fresh discord | Protests against farm laws: Agitating farmers continue sit-in at Delhi borders, Chilla-Noida border shut | UK approves Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine against Covid-19 for roll out | West Bengal Guv Jagdeep Dhankhar inaugurates phase 3 trial of Covaxin in Kolkata
Assembly elections in Maharashtra, Haryana on Oct 21, counting on Oct 24

Assembly elections in Maharashtra, Haryana on Oct 21, counting on Oct 24

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 21 Sep 2019, 08:22 am

New Delhi: The assembly elections in two Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-ruled states, Maharashtra and Haryana, will be held in a single phase on Oct 21, Chief Election Commissioner of India Sunil Arora announced on Saturday.

The counting of votes in both the states will take place on Oct 24.

The notification will be issued on Sept 27 and the last date for filing of nomination is Oct 4.

The last date for nomination scrutiny and candidature withdrawal are Oct 5 and Oct 7 respectively. The entire poll process will be completed by Oct 27, Arora said.

288 and 90 assembly seats in Maharashtra and Haryana respectively are up for the contest.

The by-elections in 64 assembly seats in Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Odisha, Puducherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh and in one parliamentary seat in Bihar will be held on Oct 21.

The results of the by-elections will also be counted on Oct 24.

The by-elections in West Bengal will not be held along with the 18 other states due to festive season in the eastern state.