December 05, 2023 00:50 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
3 dead as rain cripples life in Chennai amid Cyclone Michaung warning | 13 killed in clashes between two unknown groups in Manipur: Reports | Cyclonic storm Michaung to make landfall in Tamil Nadu tomorrow, Amit Shah assures all possible support | 'Not aware': Mamata Banerjee to skip upcoming INDIA bloc meeting | Raghav Chadha's suspension not 'revoked' over alleged breach of privileges: Rajya Sabha
Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa wins trust vote in state assembly

Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa wins trust vote in state assembly

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 29 Jul 2019, 06:34 am

Bengaluru, July 29 (IBNS): Newly-sworn Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa won the trust vote in the state assembly on Monday.

Yediyurappa took oath as the Chief Minister for the fourth time last week after several Congress and Janata Dal Secular (JDS) MLAs withdrew support to the HD Kumaraswamy government.

Yediyurappa won the trust vote a day after Karnataka Assembly Speaker Ramesh Kumar disqualified 14 rebel MLAs.

The scenario has paved the BJP's way to win the trust vote as the majority mark came down from 113 to 104. The BJP has 105 members of its won.

After the Congress-JDS lost the trust vote, Ramesh Kumar immediately resigned as the Speaker.

The disqualified MLAs have said they will challenge the Speaker's move in the Supreme Court.

The disqualification means they won't be able to contest any elections till 2023, when the next state polls will take place. 

The rebel MLAs had moved the Supreme Court after the Speaker didn't accept their resignations for the first time. The top court had ordered the rebel lawmakers to submit their resignations to the Speaker for the second time.

After the BJP emerged as the single largest party in the Karnataka assembly elections last year, Yeddyurappa had sworn in as the Chief Minister. But unable to prove majority in the 225-member assembly, Yeddyurappa had to resign after two days paving way for the Congress-JDS to assume power.