December 05, 2023 02:18 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
3 dead as rain cripples life in Chennai amid Cyclone Michaung warning | 13 killed in clashes between two unknown groups in Manipur: Reports | Cyclonic storm Michaung to make landfall in Tamil Nadu tomorrow, Amit Shah assures all possible support | 'Not aware': Mamata Banerjee to skip upcoming INDIA bloc meeting | Raghav Chadha's suspension not 'revoked' over alleged breach of privileges: Rajya Sabha
BS Yediyurappa confident as BJP to face trust vote in Karnataka Assembly today

BS Yediyurappa confident as BJP to face trust vote in Karnataka Assembly today

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 29 Jul 2019, 05:23 am

Bengaluru, July 29 (IBNS): Newly-sworn Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa sounded confident as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led government is going to face a trust vote in the state assembly on Monday.

Yediyurappa sworn in as the Chief Minister for the fourth time last week after several Congress and Janata Dal Secular (JDS) MLAs withdrew support to the HD Kumaraswamy government.

However, Yediyurappa will face the trust vote a day after Karnataka Assembly Speaker Ramesh Kumar disqualified 14 rebel MLAs.

The scenario is certainly to going make the BJP's path to win the trust vote lot easier as the majority mark will come down from 113 to 104 The BJP has 105 members of its won.

The disqualified MLAs have said they will challenge the Speaker's move in the Supreme Court.

The disqualification means they won't be able to contest any elections till 2023, when the next state polls will take place. 

The rebel MLAs had moved the Supreme Court after the Speaker didn't accept their resignations for the first time. The top court had ordered the rebel lawmakers to submit their resignations to the Speaker for the second time.

After the BJP emerged as the single largest party in the Karnataka assembly elections last year, Yeddyurappa had sworn in as the Chief Minister. But unable to prove majority in the 225-member assembly, Yeddyurappa had to resign after two days paving way for the Congress-JDS to assume power.