May 19, 2024 10:54 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Arvind Kejriwal to march with AAP leaders to BJP HQs tomorrow with an 'arrest' dare | Adhir Chowdhury won't decide, he will be axed if he doesn't...': Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge on alliance with Mamata Banerjee | Swati Maliwal assault case: Arvind Kejriwal's aide Bibhav Kumar arrested by Delhi Police | DK Shivakumar offered me Rs. 100 crore to defame Modi: Arrested BJP leader G Devaraje Gowda on Karnataka sex scandal | Swati Maliwal assault case: New video shows AAP MP escorted out of Arvind Kejriwal's home
Karnataka Speaker disqualifies 13 more rebel MLAs before trust vote

Karnataka Speaker disqualifies 13 more rebel MLAs before trust vote

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 28 Jul 2019, 07:38 am

Hyderabad, Jul 28 (IBNS): Karnataka Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar on Sunday disqualified 14 more rebel MLAs, 11 of whom belonged to the Congress party and three others from HD Kumaraswamy's Janata Dal-Secular.

This comes just a day ahead of the trust vote in Karnataka Assembly where newly appointed Chief Minister and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) strongman BS Yediyurappa will prove his government's majority.

Yeddyurappa last Friday staked claim three days after the Congress-Janata Dal Secular (JDS) government failed to win the trust vote in the Vadhan Soudha, getting only 99 votes as opposed to BJP's 105.

The trust vote was called by JDS leader and then Karnataka Chief Minister, HD Kumaraswamy, amid the political turmoil over several Congress-JDS MLAs' resignations.

Earlier on Thursday, the Speaker had disqualified three rebel lawmakers.

The disqualification of MLAs means they won't be able to contest any elections till 2023, when the next state polls will take place.

With 16 disqualifications, the strength of the House has come down to 208 and the majority mark is now 105 - a number the BJP currently holds.


Support Our Journalism

We cannot do without you.. your contribution supports unbiased journalism

IBNS is not driven by any ism- not wokeism, not racism, not skewed secularism, not hyper right-wing or left liberal ideals, nor by any hardline religious beliefs or hyper nationalism. We want to serve you good old objective news, as they are. We do not judge or preach. We let people decide for themselves. We only try to present factual and well-sourced news.

Support objective journalism for a small contribution.