December 02, 2021 08:50 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
'What is UPA? There is no UPA': Mamata Banerjee in Mumbai | Align Omicron travel guidelines with ours: Centre tells Maharashtra | Mamata Banerjee meets Shiv Sena's Aaditya Thackeray, Sanjay Raut in Mumbai | 7-day institutional quarantine for international travellers from 'at-risk' nations in Maharashtra | India summons Pakistan official over model's photoshoot at Kartarpur Sahib
N Chandrababu Naidu elected as TDP Legislature party leader

N Chandrababu Naidu elected as TDP Legislature party leader

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 29 May 2019, 11:54 am

Amaravati, May 29 (UNI) N Chandrababu Naidu was elected as TDP Legislature Party leader.

The TDP legislature party meeting was held at the residence of Naidu at Undavalli near here on Wednesday.

The TDP MLAs 'unanimously' elected him as their leader.

It may be mentioned here that the TDP has 23 legislators, including Mr Naidu, in the 175 member Assembly. Except three legislators, all the 20 MLAs attended the legislature party meeting.

Speaking on the occasion, Naidu said that they had worked for five years sincerely for the development of the state. The government had given priority for the development and welfare of people and also development of infrastructure.

The government had taken up several irrigation projects and expedited the construction of new capital city Amaravati despite the state was facing financial crisis.

“Unfortunately, the people’s verdict is against us. However, the TDP has got 39.2 % votes. Let us wait and see how the new government will perform. We should observe keenly the changing political situation before we respond”, he told the legislators.

The TDP legislators told their leader that the Opposition should raise the problems of constituencies in the Assembly. Naidu opined that the TDP did not tasted rout because of people's wrath. The YSRCP registered a landslide victory as people have shown sympathy towards Jagan Mohan Reddy, he felt.

Meanwhile, MLA N Chinarajappa told media that the appointment of party Whip was left to Chandrababu Naidu. Though the TDP has only 23 legislators in the Assembly they would keep on raising the problems of people.

The TDP would analyse the reasons for its debacle in the general election, he said.

TDP State President K Kala Vernkata Rao, Party senior leader Yanamala Ramakrishnudu and MP Y Sujana Chowdary were among those who attended the meeting. 

Image: UNI