October 29, 2021 02:02 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
'SRK had tears of joy': Mukul Rohatgi who fought for Aryan Khan's bail | Three Kashmiri students, arrested for supporting Pak cricket team, attacked outside Agra court | Oman approves India's Covaxin for travel without need for quarantine | Bengal: BJP ward co-ordinator from Kolkata dies in road mishap in East Medinipur | Sameer Wankhede to head Aryan Khan case unless 'substantial evidence found against him'
CWC rejects Congress chief Rahul Gandhi's resignation

CWC rejects Congress chief Rahul Gandhi's resignation

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 25 May 2019, 11:07 am

New Delhi, May 25 (IBNS):   The Congress Working Committee, the highest decision making body of the Congress, on Saturday turned down the resignation submitted by party president Rahul Gandhi after his party performed poorly in the Lok Sabha polls.

Speaking on the issue,  Randeep Singh Surjewala, party leader, said during a press conference: "Rahul Gandhi presented his resignation to the CWC, but the CWC unanimously rejected it, as we need his guidance and leadership."

He said the CWC accepted the mandate of the people.

"As a responsible opposition party, we will fulfill all the duties to bring forward the issues of the people," he said.

"Congress has lost the battle but our fight against divisive forces and our commitment to our principles continue to be stronger," the Congress leader said.

The Congress leaders praised Gandhi's leadership and passed a resolution, authorising him to restructure the party.

Among the CWC members, the meeting was attended by UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, former prime minister Dr Manmohan Singh, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, Punjab Chief Minister Capt Amarinder Singh, Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel, organisational general secretary KC Venugopal, party general secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, senior leaders like Motilal Vohra, AK Antony, Ahmed Patel, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Mallikarjun Kharge, Sheila Dikshit, Ambika Soni, Kumari Shelja, P Chidambaram, Tarun Gogoi, Meera Kumar, Oommen Chandy, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Mukul Wasnik. 

The Congress faced a rout for the second time and ended at 52 seats, increasing just eight more from its tally in 2014.

Image; Congress Twitter page