August 16, 2020 01:05 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
MS Dhoni announces retirement from international cricket | India celebrates 74th Independence Day: PM Modi gives strong message to Pak, China from Red Fort | West Bengal: BJP worker found murdered in Khanakul during National Flag hoisting | From LAC to LoC, soldiers gave fitting reply to those who challenged India's sovereignty: Narendra Modi | India registers over 65,000 cases in 24 hours, tally crosses 2.5 million
Lok Sabha poll results: Congress candidate Vaithilingam wins Pondy seat

Lok Sabha poll results: Congress candidate Vaithilingam wins Pondy seat

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 24 May 2019, 06:27 am

Puducherry, May 24 (UNI): Congress candidate V Vaithilingam on Friday declared elected from Puducherry Lok Sabha constituency by defeating his nearest N R Congress rival K Narayanasamy by a margin of 1,97,025 votes.

With this, Congress wrest the seat from N R Congress.

When the counting came to a close in the early hours, Vaithilingam secured 4,44,981 votes while,Narayanasamy polled 2,47,956 votes.

Makkal Neethi Mayyam candidate Dr M A S Subramanian got 38,068 and Naam Tamizhar party candidate Sharmila Begum polled 22,857. Other 14 candidates lost their security deposit.

NOTA polled 12199 votes.

Vaithilingam (69), the son of a former chief minister, was the speaker of the territorial assembly. He resigned from his post and contested the Lok Sabha elections.

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, R Radhakrishnan of the N R Congress defeated the present chief minister V Narayanasamy by a margin of 60,854 votes.