August 16, 2020 01:11 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
MS Dhoni announces retirement from international cricket | India celebrates 74th Independence Day: PM Modi gives strong message to Pak, China from Red Fort | West Bengal: BJP worker found murdered in Khanakul during National Flag hoisting | From LAC to LoC, soldiers gave fitting reply to those who challenged India's sovereignty: Narendra Modi | India registers over 65,000 cases in 24 hours, tally crosses 2.5 million
BJP creates record in NE, leads in 17 of 25 seats

BJP creates record in NE, leads in 17 of 25 seats

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 23 May 2019, 02:55 pm

Guwahati, May 23 (IBNS): Apart from the other parts of the country, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is also going to create a new history in the North East as the saffron party is looking to surpass its last Lok Sabha election tally in the region.

Out of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in the eight states of the region, the BJP has alone won in seven seats and leading in seven more seats. Its ally parties have won two seats and leading in one.

In Assam, out of 14 seats, the BJP has won Silchar, Karimganj, Jorhat and Lakhimpur seats and leading with a huge margin in Tezpur, Autonomous District, Gauhati, Mangaldoi and Dibrugarh seats.

Sitting BJP MP Pradan Baruah won from Lakhimpur seat, while Dr Rajdeep Roy won in Silchar defeating sitting Congress MP Sushmita Dev, Assam Assembly deputy Speaker Kripanath Mallah won in Karimganj seat defeating sitting AIUDF MP Radheshyam Biswas.

On the other hand, the BJP candidates are leading with a huge margin in Tezpur, Dibrugarh, Autonomous District, Gauhati and Mangaldoi seats.

On the other hand, Congress candidates are leading in Kaliabor, Nowgong and Barpeta seats in Assam.

Sitting Congress MP and son of former Assam chief minister Gaurav Gogoi is taking a lead over 2.04 lakh votes in Kaliabor, while Congress MLA and the party candidate for Barpeta parliamentary constituency leading with a margin of above 1.10 lakh votes.

Perfume baron and AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal is all set to be elected to the Lower House for the third consecutive term from Dhubri by taking a lead over 2.25 lakh votes.

Sitting Independent MP of Kokrajhar Lok Sabha seat, Naba Kumar Sarania is taking a lead above 46,000 votes.

On the other hand, minister of state for home Kiren Rijiju and Arunachal Pradesh BJP president Tapir Gao, who are contesting from Arunachal West and Arunachal East seats, are going to win after taking a huge margin lead.

Former Union minister and sister of Meghalaya chief minister Conrad Sangma, who contesting from Tura seat on NPP ticket won by defeating Congress candidate and former chief minister Mukul Sangma.

Sitting Congress MP Vincent H.Pala won from the Shillong seat.

On the other hand, BJP is leading in Inner Manipur, Tripura East and Tripura West seats.

BJP’s ally party MNF leading in the lone seat in Mizoram and NDPP is leading in the lone seat in Nagaland.

NPF is leading in Outer Manipur seat.

In 2014, BJP won seven seats in Assam and one in Arunachal Pradesh.


(Reporting by Hemanta Kumar Nath)