August 16, 2020 01:49 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
MS Dhoni announces retirement from international cricket | India celebrates 74th Independence Day: PM Modi gives strong message to Pak, China from Red Fort | West Bengal: BJP worker found murdered in Khanakul during National Flag hoisting | From LAC to LoC, soldiers gave fitting reply to those who challenged India's sovereignty: Narendra Modi | India registers over 65,000 cases in 24 hours, tally crosses 2.5 million
BJP takes lead in majority seats in UP, alliance much behind

BJP takes lead in majority seats in UP, alliance much behind

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 23 May 2019, 04:29 am

Lucknow, May 23(UNI): Strong contender BJP was leading in at least 45 of the total 80 Lok Sabha constituencies in Uttar Pradesh in the postal ballot counting in the first hour.

Counting of votes which started on a smooth note with some technical error in Amethi and Mirzapur, was underway on a faster note.

The SP-BSP-RLD alliance too has taken lead in 5 seats while Congress is ahead in 3 constituencies in the preliminary phase of the counting.

VVIP candidates including Prime Minister Narendra Modi (Varanasi), Congress president Rahul Gandhi(Amethi), UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi (Rae Bareli), Union Home minister Rajnath Singh (Lucknow) along with several Union ministers are leading in the postal ballots. Samajwadi Party patriach Mulayam Singh Yadav and his son SP president Akhilesh Yadav too are leading.

Though earlier Rahul Gandhi was trailing against Union minister Smriti Irani from Amethi seat.

Bollywood actor and BJP candidate Jaya Prada was trailing in Rampur against SP's Azam Khan while UP Congress president Raj Babbar was behind his rival in Fatehpur Sikri.

BJP candidates are leading in Bareilly, Faizabad,Aligarh, Bhadoi, Pratapgarh, Moradabad, Mohanlalganj, Gorakhpur, Badaun, Fatehpur, Robertsganj, Sitapur, Pilibhit, Kaiserganj and other seats.

The SP-BSP-RLD alliance are ahead in Baghpat, Mainpuri, Azamgarh, Aonla, Amroha, Muzaffarnagar, Bijnore, Rampur and some others.

Congress was leading in Rae Bareli, Amethi and Saharanpur.

Meanwhile, dispute arose in some places like Gonda and Mirzapur where media was not allowed inside the counting centers.