August 10, 2020 03:06 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Cattle smuggle on rise along Indo-Bangladesh border, three smugglers held with 44 cattle heads | Govt transferred Rs. 17,100 crores directly to 8.5 crore farmers' bank accounts: PM Modi | India records biggest single-day spike of 64,399 new COVID-19 cases | Massive fire breaks out at Andhra Pradesh COVID-19 facility, 7 dead, many feared trapped | Covid-19: West Bengal registers 2,949 new cases, toll crosses 2,000-mark
Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha votes counting: BJP takes lead in majority seats, alliance, Congress trailing

Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha votes counting: BJP takes lead in majority seats, alliance, Congress trailing

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 23 May 2019, 03:48 am

Lucknow, May 23 (UNI) Strong contender BJP was leading in at least 45 of the total 80 Lok Sabha constituencies in Uttar Pradesh in the postal ballot counting in the first hour.

Counting of votes which started on a smooth note with some technical error in Amethi and Mirzapur, was underway on a faster note.

The SP-BSP-RLD alliance too has taken lead in 5 seats while Congress is ahead in 3 constituencies in the preliminary phase of the counting.
VVIP candidates including Prime Minister Narendra Modi (Varanasi), Congress president Rahul Gandhi(Amethi), UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi (Rae Bareli), Union Home minister Rajnath Singh (Lucknow) along with several Union ministers are leading in the postal ballots. Samajwadi Party patriach Mulayam Singh Yadav and his son SP president Akhilesh Yadav too are leading.

Though earlier Rahul Gandhi was trailing against Union minister Smriti Irani from Amethi seat.

Bollywood actor and BJP candidate Jaya Prada was trailing in Rampur against SP's Azam Khan while UP Congress president Raj Babbar was behind his rival in Fatehpur Sikri.

BJP candidates are leading in Bareilly, Faizabad,Aligarh, Bhadoi, Pratapgarh, Moradabad, Mohanlalganj, Gorakhpur, Badaun, Fatehpur, Robertsganj, Sitapur, Pilibhit, Kaiserganj and other seats.

The SP-BSP-RLD alliance are ahead in Baghpat, Mainpuri, Azamgarh, Aonla, Amroha, Muzaffarnagar, Bijnore, Rampur and some others.

Congress was leading in Rae Bareli, Amethi and Saharanpur.

Meanwhile, dispute arose in some places like Gonda and Mirzapur where media was not allowed inside the counting centers.