December 04, 2020 06:41 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Three Bengal doctors, including Sagore Dutta Hospital's principal Hasi Dasgupta, succumb to COVID-19 in a single day | Mamata Banerjee inaugurates Majerhat Bridge in Kolkata, accuses Centre over delay | No breakthrough achieved in 7-hour-long meeting between Centre and farmers' representatives | Rebel Trinamool Congress leader Suvendu Adhikari's 'mind' likely to be known on Sunday | 'No more talk with Suvendu Adhikari': Trinamool Congress
Counting of votes to start in 25 Lok Sabha and 57 assembly seats in NE

Counting of votes to start in 25 Lok Sabha and 57 assembly seats in NE

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 23 May 2019, 01:34 am

Guwahati, May 23 (IBNS): The counting of votes polled in 25 parliamentary seats, located across eight states of North East India and 60 assembly seats in Arunachal Pradesh, will take place at around 8 am on Thursday amid tight security. 

Voting for 14 seats in Assam, two each in Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya and Tripura, one each in Nagaland, Mizoram and Sikkim were held in first three phases on Apr 11, 18 and 23.

219 candidates are testing their fortunes from the 25 Lok Sabha seats in the region.

In Assam, sitting Congress MPs Gaurav Gogoi, Sushmita Dev, Biren Sing Engti, AIUDF MPs Badruddin Ajmal, Radheshyam Biswas, BJP MPs Rameswar Teli, Pradan Baruah, Assam ministers Tapan Kumar Gogoi, Pallav Lochan Das, Pramila Rani Brahma Assam assembly Deputy Speaker Kripanath Mallah, Congress MLA Abdul Khalek, BJP MLA Rupak Sarma, former Union minister Paban Singh Ghatowar are among the 145 candidates contesting in the 14 Lok Sabha seats.

On the other hand, Union minister Kiren Rijiju, former Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Nabam Tuki, former Meghalaya Chief Minister Dr Mukul Sangma, former Nagaland Chief Minister K.L. Chishi, former Union minister Agatha Sangma are among the other high profile candidates in the region, who contesting in this election.

Tight security arrangements have been made in all counting centres in the region.

Voting for 60-member Arunachal Pradesh assembly election was simultaneously held with Lok Sabha polls on Apr 11.

Before voting, three BJP candidates have already declared winner unopposed.

Three BJP candidates were officially declared winners from their respective assembly constituencies without a voting cast.

The unopposed winners are - Kento Jini from Aalo East constituency in West Siang district, Taba Tedir from Yachuli seat in Lower Subansiri district and Phurpa Tsering from Dirang seat in West Kameng district.

(By Hemanta Kumar Nath, Guwahati)