August 18, 2022 01:31 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Supreme Court asks Centre to take steps to lift AIFF ban | Congress slams Centre for Bilkis Bano rape convicts' release | Property of militant who killed Kashmiri Pandit in Shopian attached | Sexual harassment charge not attracted when woman wears 'sexually provocative dresses': Kerala court | Actor Jacqueline Fernandez now co-accused in Rs. 200-cr money laundering case
Campaign for third and last phase of elections on seven seats of Chhattisgarh ends

Campaign for third and last phase of elections on seven seats of Chhattisgarh ends

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 21 Apr 2019, 04:03 pm

Raipur, Apr 21 (UNI) Campaign for third and last phase of Lok Sabha elections on all seven seats of Chhattisgarh on April 23 ended on Sunday evening. Contestants took out processions in almost all the places and leaders addressed public gatherings in their support on the last day of campaign. According to Chhattisgarh Chief Electoral Officer Subrat Sahoo, campaigning for the third and last phase of Lok Sabha elections in Raipur, Bilaspur, Durg, Janjgir, Korba, Raigarh and Sarguja constituencies ended peacefully.

A total of 123 candidates are contesting elections on these seats. He said that with the end of cacophony of campaigning, candidates will not be allowed to organise rallies, public meetings or any public events and take out processions. However, they can visit door-to-door and individually contact people for campaigning.

As many as 1,27,13,816 voters, including 64,16,252 men, 62,96,992 women and 572 third gender people, are likely to exercise their franchise in the third phase of elections, said the Chief Electoral Officer, adding that 15,408 polling centres were set up to ensure peaceful polling. He said that maximum 25 candidates are in the fray of Bilaspur and Raipur Lok Sabha constituencies each while minimum of ten candidates are contesting elections in Sarguja Lok Sabha constituency.

Political parties have pulled out all stops in third and last phase of Lok Sabha elections. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah, vice-president and former chief minister of state Dr Raman Singh, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, former chief minister of Madhya Pradesh Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Union Minister Uma Bharti addressed gatherings to campaign in favour of BJP candidates.

Congress president Rahul Gandhi addressed public meetings in Bilaspur and Bhilai on Saturday to campaign for their candidates. Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel held meetings in favour of party candidates on these seats. Punjab minister Navjot Singh Sidhu too held several public meetings. Ministers in state government also held meetings in several areas under election campaign. Chief minister Baghel on Sunday took part in road show of Congress candidate from Raipur Pramod Dubey.

BSP supremo Mayawati addressed public meeting in Janjgir to campaign for BSP candidate from this seat. Chhattisgarh has total 11 Lok Sabha seats. Polling in two phases was held on April 11 and April 18. Process of polling in Lok Sabha elections in Chhattisgarh will conclude with voting on 7 seats under 3rd phase on April 23. Counting on all seats will be held on May 23.