Kolkata: Two Bangladeshis killed as speeding Jaguar rams into them | Cricketer Ravindra Jadeja nominated for Arjuna Award | India's envoy Syed Akbaruddin wins hearts of Twitterati for his Kashmir diplomacy at UN | Like Article 370, Taslima Nasreen wants abolition of Islamic law too | Harsh Vardhan, Mayawati, Singhvi visit 'critical' Arun Jaitley at AIIMS |
BJP to win two Assembly seats uncontested in Arunachal Pradesh

BJP to win two Assembly seats uncontested in Arunachal Pradesh

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 27 Mar 2019, 02:43 pm

Guwahati, Mar 26 (IBNS): A fortnight before voting for the Arunachal Pradesh Assembly election, the Bharatiya Janata Party got its first victory in the North Eastern frontier state by winning two its MLAs uncontested.

But it will have to wait until March 28 for a formal announcement.

The BJP has claimed that, the party has secured two seats "unopposed".

Kiren Rijiju, Union minister of state for home and BJP candidate for Arunachal West Lok Sabha seat claimed two BJP candidates had been elected unopposed.

Rijiju tweeted: “BJP scored first victory! BJP MLA candidate Shri Kento Jini from 31-Aalo East Constituency in Arunachal Pradesh is elected unopposed.”

Rijiju again tweeted: “One more victory for BJP! Shri Taba Tedir becomes the second BJP MLA candidate to get elected unopposed from 16-Yachuli Assembly Constituency in Arunachal Pradesh.”

Arunachal Pradesh chief electoral officer Kaling Tayeng said only two candidates had filed their nominations for the Aalo East Assembly seat.

“After scrutiny, nomination paper of the Indian National Congress candidate Minkir Lollen was rejected and Kento Jini is the only eligible candidate,” Kaling Tayeng said.

Similarly, two candidates had filed nominations for the Yachuli Assembly constituency and the nomination paper of the Janata Dal (United) candidate Toko Yaram was rejected and Taba Tedir is the lone candidate for the seat.

The Arunachal Pradesh chief electoral officer said that, the Election Commission would officially declare the uncontested winning candidates only after the necessary formalities are completed following the last date of withdrawal of nomination papers by the candidate on March 28.

The Assembly election for the 60-member Arunachal Pradesh Assembly and Lok Sabha polls for two seats will be held on April 11.

Recently, 20 BJP leaders including two cabinet ministers – home minister Kumar Waii and tourism minister Jarkar Gamlin and nine sitting MLAs joined Meghalaya chief minister Conrad Sangma-led National People’s Party (NPP).

(By Hemanta Kumar Nath, Guwahati)

BJP to win two Assembly seats uncontested in Arunachal Pradesh

India Blooms News Service
Comments ()

Post your comment:

Web Analytics