December 03, 2023 03:51 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
PM Modi participates in COP-28 Presidency’s session on 'Transforming Climate Finance' | Antony Blinken calls for Iraq to protect US installations | Several hostages, including grandfather and a kindergarten teacher, killed in Hamas captivity | Counting day for Mizoram assembly election changed to Dec 4 | Mysterious White Lung Syndrome spreads globally, cases reported in US, Denmark, Netherlands
#LokSabhaPoll2019: Congress names four more candidates in Chhattisgarh

#LokSabhaPoll2019: Congress names four more candidates in Chhattisgarh

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 24 Mar 2019, 11:04 am

Raipur, Mar 24 (UNI) Congress has fielded candidates from four more parliamentary constituencies including Raipur, Rajnandgaon, Bilaspur and Mahasamund for Lok Sabha elections. The party already declared five candidates earlier.

With latest announcement of four candidates, Congress has so far fielded candidates in 9 out of 11 Lok Sabha seats in Chhattisgarh. Raipur Mayor Pramod Dubey has been fielded from high-profile Raipur seat. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections BJP’s Ramesh Bais had won this seat.

Ex MLA from Khujji Bholaram Sahu has been fielded by Congress from another high-profile constituency Rajnandgaon which is presently represented by Abhishek Singh, son of former Chief Minister and BJP national vice president Raman Singh.

Ex-Minister and currently the Congress MLA from Abhanpur constituency Dhanendra Sahu has been fielded from Mahasamund constituency. Congress has also fielded Atal Shrivastav from Bilaspur constituency.

Congress had earlier fielded candidates from all five reserved seats including Surguja, Bastar, Raigarh and Kanker (all reserved for scheduled tribe) and Janjgir Champa (reserved for scheduled caste). Candidates for remaining two seats-Korba and Durg-have to be announced.