July 31, 2021 11:54 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Kerala records 20,772 fresh COVID cases, state health minister says 'situation under control' | Both Indian men and women team register victories in Olympics hockey | Amid students' rush, Air India to increase flight frequency to US from August | Boxer Lovlina Borgohain ensured another medal for India from Tokyo Olympics. | OBC quota in medical colleges 'step taken late': BSP supremo Mayawati
DMK demands holding of Assembly bypoll to all 21 seats in Tamil Nadu

DMK demands holding of Assembly bypoll to all 21 seats in Tamil Nadu

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 11 Mar 2019, 08:09 am

Chennai, Mar 11 (UNI) The Opposition DMK in Tamil Nadu on Monday demanded that by-elections be held for all the 21 Assembly seats along with the Lok Sabha polls on April 18, instead of 18 seats announced by it.

A resolution to this effect was adopted at the party district secretaries meet held here.

It said the Election Commission's decision on not to hold bypoll for three seats - Aravakurichi, Tiruparankundram and Ottapidaram - while announcing the schedule for the remaining 18 seats was undemocratic.

Urging the Election Commission to hold the bypolls to the three seats also (total 21) along with the Lok Sabha elections, the resolution said the if the Election Commission did not come forward to hold the elections, the DMK would take legal steps in this regard.

While 18 seats fell vacant following the disqualification of AIADMK rebel MLAs, Tiruparankundram and Tiruvarur fell vacant following the death of AIADMK MLA A.K. Bose and former chief minister M. Karunanidhi respectively.

The Hosur seat fell vacant following the resignation of former minister Balakrishna Reddy following his conviction in a stone-pelting case, taking the told number of vacancies in the state to 21 seats.

The EC, while announcing the poll schedule, said bypolls would be held for 18 seats in the state and did not announce elections for the remaining three seats citing pendency of cases.