July 16, 2020 22:15 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Rhea Chakraborty requests Amit Shah to begin CBI probe into Sushant Singh Rajput's death | Bengal: Guv Jagdeep Dhankhar dashes off letter to Mamata over meeting with VCs | BSP chief Mayawati attacks BJP on Guna incident | India, China remain committed to objective of complete disengagement at LAC, says Indian Army | File fresh petition tomorrow: Rajasthan HC to Sachin Pilot after Congress' political crisis enters courtroom

President's Rule imposed in poll-bound Maharashtra

India Blooms News Service | | 28 Sep 2014, 08:28 pm
New Delhi, Sept 28 (IBNS): As Maharashtra gears up for the Assembly polls, President's Rule was imposed in the state after the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) withdrew its support from the ruling Congress party thereby reducing the state government to minority.

" President’s rule has been imposed in Maharashtra. The state assembly has been kept under suspended animation," the  Ministry of Home Affairs said in a statement on Sunday.

  This comes after the Union Cabinet on Saturday recommended imposition of President's Rule in Maharashtra.

Maharashtra Governor CV Rao on Saturday accepted Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan’s resignation on Saturday but asked him to continue as the caretaker government for the time being in the poll-bound state.

Chavan resigned from the CM’s post on Friday in the wake of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) withdrew its support from the ruling Congress party thereby reducing it to minority.

Sharad Pawar-led NCP broke ties with its 15-year old coalition partner Congress, owing to the failure in the seat-sharing deal for the upcoming Maharashtra Assembly polls due next month.

With the withdrawal of 62-legislator strong NCP, the Congress-led ruling coalition Democratic Front government was reduced to a minority in the 288-member house as it has only 82 legislators.

With Congress-NCP parting ways on one side and BJP-Shiv Sena alliance splitting at the same time, the upcoming elections is going to be four-sided affair with all parties going to the elections on their own.

Raj Thackeray’s Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) being the fifth major side contesting the polls.