September 21, 2020 21:03 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
IPL 2020: Virat Kohli's RCB face SRH today | Rajya Sabha adjourned till tomorrow amid Opposition's ruckus over suspension of MPs | New farm laws will allow farmers to sell their productions in their own terms: PM Modi | Covid-19: Zero attendance in govt institutions as schools partially reopen in Jammu | Chopper crashes in Azamgarh, pilot dies
Mizoram election: 75% voters turnout recorded till 6 pm

Mizoram election: 75% voters turnout recorded till 6 pm

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 28 Nov 2018, 03:15 pm

Aizawl, Nov 28 (IBNS): Around 75 percent votes were cast in Mizoram assembly elections till 6 pm on Wednesday, but the figure is expected to rise as long queues of voters were still spotted outside many polling stations to exercise their franchise.

The fate of 209 candidates now remains sealed as over 75 percent of 7.70 lakh voters cast their votes to elect a new government in the Christian dominated north eastern state.

Mizoram Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Ashish Kundra said that, the poll percentage might be increased.

“The highest turnout of 81 percent was recorded in Serchhip seat, where five times Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla is one of the contestants,” Kundra said.

The Mizoram CEO further said that, 52 percent of 11987 Bru refugee voters exercised their franchise in Kanhmun village in Mamit district along Tripura-Mizoram border.

The authorities arranged transportation facilities to the Bru refugee voters living in Tripura to travel to Mizoram to cast their votes.

Fifteen temporary polling stations were set up for 11,987 Bru refugee voters at Kanhmun village in Mamit district.

India’s second least population state Mizoram is the last bastion of Congress in the North East.

The history of the Christian dominated Mizoram indicated that, the government in the state has changed in every 10 years.

The Congress is in power in Mizoram since 2008.

In 2013 elections, Congress won 34 seats while the MNF got 5 and the Mizoram People's Conference got one.

While Congress and opposition Mizo National Front (MNF) have fielded their candidates in all 40 seats, BJP fielded candidates in 39 seats.

(Reporting by Hemanth Kumar Nath)