December 02, 2020 17:21 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Virat Kohli surpasses Sachin Tendulkar to score fastest 12,000 runs in ODIs | 'If Suvendu Adhikari changes mind, he must convey': Trinamool MP Saugata Roy amid reports of fresh discord | Protests against farm laws: Agitating farmers continue sit-in at Delhi borders, Chilla-Noida border shut | UK approves Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine against Covid-19 for roll out | West Bengal Guv Jagdeep Dhankhar inaugurates phase 3 trial of Covaxin in Kolkata
No confidence motion against government accepted in Lok Sabha

No confidence motion against government accepted in Lok Sabha

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 18 Jul 2018, 07:38 am

New Delhi, July 18 (IBNS): The no-confidence motion- moved by the Congress, the Telegu Desam Party (TDP) and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)- against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led central government was accepted in the Lok Sabha on the first day of the parliament's monsoon session on Wednesday, media reports said.

Speaker Sumitra Mahajan said she would notify the date of discussion on the notice.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Anant Kumar has been quoted by NDTV, "The opposition may have no confidence on PM Narendra Modi's government, but I want to make it absolutely clear in the House that the people of the country has full confidence."

Chandrababu Naidu's TDP has brought the no-confidence motion, demanding a special status for Andhra Pradesh.

The Congress said it will support the TDP's motion.

The BJP, which has the majority in the lower house along with its allies, said it is ready for the motion.

With 314 members in the lower house of Parliament, the no-trust motion is not a threat to the BJP-led NDA government since the number is more than the half-way mark (272).