March 24, 2023 01:26 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Jack Dorsey founded Block is the latest target of Hindenburg research report | Mamata Banerjee meets Naveen Patnaik in Bhubaneswar, calls for 'upholding spirit of democracy' | Navjot Singh Sidhu's wife diagnosed with cancer; pens emotional note to husband | Rahul Gandhi automatically disqualified as MP after two-year jail sentence: Kapil Sibal | Shiv Sena sacks Sanjay Raut as parliamentary party leader, appoints Gajanan Kirtikar to succeed him
Karnataka Assembly election results today

Karnataka Assembly election results today

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 15 May 2018, 07:54 am

Bangalore, May 15 (IBNS): Counting of votes for the Assembly polls in Karnataka will start shortly on Tuesday.

Voting took place on Saturday.

Results of 222 seats, in which voting took place, will be declared.

The Election Commission on Friday deferred the poll in Rajarajeswari Nagar constituency in Karnataka to May 28.

The decision was taken just few hours before voting commenced in Karnataka.

"The voting was deferred in view of 'vitiation' of the electoral process on account of attempts by political parties and candidates to induce voters through distribution of freebies and illegal collection of EPICs aimed at either wooing the voters or keeping them from voting," The Times of India reported.

The commission cited two incidents of “serious nature” which compelled it to conclude that the electoral process had been vitiated.

The counting for the polling will take place on May 31.

Meanwhile, several exit poll results have suggested a possible hung assembly in Karnataka.

The exit polls are however largely divided over the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerging as the single largest political party.

Before the polling, Karnataka witnessed severe campaigning by both Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the BJP and party president Rahul Gandhi for his Congress.

Karnataka is one of the few states where Congress is ruling.