June 18, 2021 15:08 (IST)
Follow us:
facebook-white sharing button
twitter-white sharing button
instagram-white sharing button
youtube-white sharing button
Bengal: Suvendu Adhikari seeks Mukul Roy's disqualification as MLA, files petition with Assembly Speaker | UP cops serves legal notice to Twitter India head over Ghaziabad assault video, say reports | India-New Zealand World Test Championship final begins today | India fights COVID-19: 62,480 new fresh cases, 1,587 deaths recorded in past 24 hours | Mamata Banerjee moves Calcutta HC against her Nandigram defeat to Suvendu Adhikari in Bengal polls
Chandrababu Naidu's TDP walks out from NDA alliance

Chandrababu Naidu's TDP walks out from NDA alliance

India Blooms News Service | @indiablooms | 16 Mar 2018, 07:53 pm

New Delhi, Mar 16 (IBNS): Giving a blow to the NDA government at the Centre before the Lok Sabha polls in 2019, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu's Telugu Desam Party (TDP) walked out from Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led coalition on Friday.

Giving more challenge to the NDA government,  Naidu and his TDP will also ask for a no-confidence vote against the government in the parliament.

Relationship between the Centre and Naidu received a blow over the demands of a special status to be granted to Andhra Pradesh.

The TDP has decided to quit the alliance after the centre refused to grant special status to Andhra Pradesh.

Naidu said the decision was taken after the Centre failed in fulfilling the promises made in the State Reorganisation Act. 

"Telugu Desam Party has decided to officially exit the National Democratic Alliance due to failure in fulfilling the promises made in the State Reorganisation Act. This decision was taken unanimously, in a teleconference with Politburo members, today," Naidu tweeted.

Speaking in the Andhra Assembly, Naidu said he took the decision for the interests of Andhra Pradesh.

Interestingly, TDP was the first party in 2014 to extend its support to the BJP after it registered a landmark victory in the Lok Sabha polls.

In the 545-member Parliament, the TDP has 16 members.

BJP's  GVL Narasimha Rao said his party will register a victory in Andhra Pradesh, like it did in Tripura, during the Assmebly polls next year.

Rao said the exit of the TDP from the Centre gives BJP an opportunity to grow in Andra Pradesh.

Rao tweeted: "TDP's decision to quit was inevitable after its mischievous propaganda against Centre. People of AP have now realised that the TDP is resorting to lies to cover up its inept & inert governance.Far from being a threat, TDP's exit is a timely opportunity for the BJP to grow in AP."

He said: "Andhra will be the next Tripura for the BJP. TDP's exit is a loss for the TDP, not the BJP. The slim victory of (1.7%) for the TDP-BJP combine in 2014 would have resulted in a third consecutive defeat for the TDP."

Recently, the TDP walked out of the NDA ministry over the demands of a special status to the southeastern state but stayed in the alliance then.

TDP ministers Ashok Gajapathi Raju and Y.S. Chowdary resigned following the orders of their party chief and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu.

Chowdary was the Minister of State in for Science and Technology and Earth Sciences in the BJP-led central government.

TDP might even support Jaganmohan Reddy's no-trust motion against the Narendra Modi-led Central government. Meanwhile, apart from the Trinamool Congress (TMC), the CPI-M has also stated that it will extend its support to the Telegu Desam Party (TDP)'s no-confidence motion brought against the BJP-led union government in the parliament.

CPI-M General Secretary Sitaram Yechury tweeted, "CPI(M) supports the no-confidence motion being brought against the BJP government. Its betrayal of the promise of special status for Andhra Pradesh is inexcuseable. Its all-round failure and evasion of parliamentary accountability needs to be highlighted."

Extending support to the motion, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said in a tweet, "I welcome the TDP's decision to leave the NDA. The current situation warrants such action to save the country from disaster."

"I appeal to all political parties in the Opposition to work closely together against atrocities, economic calamity and political instability," the TMC chief added in a follow-up tweet.

AIMIM leader Asaduddin Owaisi tweeted, "MIM party will support the No Confidence motion in Lok Sabha today not only for failure on part of Modi Govt to implement the State Reorganisation Act but failure to fulfill their promise to provide employment to youth and for injustice to Muslim Women and Minorities."